Page 80 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 80

committee, like the race committee, should have taken   Rule 16.1, Changing Course
               no action.
                                                                  A right-of-way boat may change course in such a way
               In order to become a party  in a  valid hearing,  Carina   that a keep-clear boat is newly obliged to take action to
               should  have  hailed and  displayed a protest flag  at the   keep  clear,  until  a  further  alteration  of  course  would
               time of the incident in accordance with rule 61.1(a), and   deprive the keep-clear boat of room to do so.
               then lodged a protest within the time limit.
               Rule 61.2 permits the protestor to remedy any defects in
               the particulars required  by that rule, provided that the               P5        S5
               protest  identifies  the  incident.  However,  this  facility
               does not extend to a protest committee itself initiating              P4         S4
               the changing of request  for redress  into a  boat v  boat
               protest,  and  does  not  permit  the  protest  committee  to
               protest on the basis of a report from a competitor.             P3
                                                                                                    S3
               Request for Redress by Carina, Upper Thames SC
                                                                        P2             Wind at
                                                                                       S3-P3
               RYA 1990/8
               Sportsmanship and the Rules                         P1                                   S2
               Rule 2, Fair Sailing
               After an incident, a boat that knows she has broken a                                         S1
               rule cannot protect herself from the consequences of not               Wind at
                                                                                      S1-P1
               taking a penalty by citing the absence of a protest by the
               other boat.                                        SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  P  and  S  approached  each  other  on  close-hauled
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               converging courses. At some distance from each other S
               As a result of an incident between two Lasers, a third   altered course to take advantage of a wind shift. At that
               boat, L, protested P, alleging that P crossed S, causing   time P could still have taken avoiding action, either by
               the latter to bear away vigorously to avoid a collision.   tacking  or  by  going  astern  of  S.  However,  she  did
               S's bow, she alleged, hit P's mainsheet.           neither  and  held  her  course.  When  a  collision  was
               The  protest  committee  found  that  there  had  been  no   imminent both boats tacked  and there was no contact.
               contact, but that S had had to bear away to avoid P. P’s   The  protest  committee  disqualified  S  under  rule  16.1,
               helmsman  was  asked  by  the  chairman  of  the  protest   and she appealed.
               committee if he had broken a rule, had known that he   DECISION
               had done so, but had not taken a penalty. His reply was   S’s appeal  is upheld; S  is reinstated into her finishing
               a  simple  ‘Yes’.  The  protest  committee  disqualified  P   position and P is disqualified under rule 10.
               under  rule  10.  P  appealed  on  the  grounds  that  S,  the
               alleged victim of the alleged infringement, had chosen   Rule 16.1 says that S may alter course up to the point
               not to protest.                                    where any further alteration of course would deprive P
                                                                  of room to keep clear.
               DECISION
               P’s  appeal  is  dismissed.  Under  its  powers  under  rule   The effect of this is that a course alteration by S in close
               71.3, the RYA further disqualifies P under rule 2.    proximity to P may  break rule 16.1. The further apart
                                                                  they  are  when  a  course  alteration  is  made,  the  more
               L  lodged a valid protest. The facts found show that P   likely it is that P can keep clear, so that rule 16.1 is less
               broke rule 10 and she was correctly disqualified.   likely to be broken. In this case, S altered course with
               There is no obligation on a right-of-way boat to protest   the wind shift quite some distance away from P, giving
               when another boat has not kept clear. That she did not   P,  the  keep-clear  boat,  ample  space  to  take  avoiding
               protest in no way diminishes the fact that the keep-clear   action had she acted promptly. However, P maintained
               boat has broken a rule. Likewise, the intentions of the   her  course  until  such  time  as  S  had  to  tack  to  avoid
               right-of-way boat have no bearing on the matter.   contact.

               The  appellant  should  note  that  the  Basic  Principle,   Rule  16.2  was  not relevant,  since  P  was  originally  to
               Sportsmanship  and  the  Rules,  says  that  when  a  boat   pass ahead of S, not astern of her.
               knows  that  she  had  broken  a  rule,  she  must  take  a   P therefore broke rule 10, and S broke no rule.
               penalty, whether or not the right-of-way boat intends to
               protest.  The  appellant  therefore  broke  a  principle  of   Spanish Steps v Uomie, Royal Dart YC
               sportsmanship,  and  is  to  be  penalized  further  with  a
               non-excludable disqualification (DNE) for breaking rule   RYA 1991/4
               2.                                                 Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
                                                                  Rule 14(a), Avoiding Contact
               L137020 v L134598 and L120394, Mumbles YC
                                                                  A right-of-way boat may hold her course and presume
               RYA 1991/1                                         that a keep-clear boat  will give way until it is evident
               Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks                         that she is not keeping clear.

                                                              80
   75   76   77   78   79   80   81   82   83   84   85