Page 73 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 73

RYA 1988/8                                         SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               (incorporating 1969/9)                             S passed the port-hand leeward mark on the ‘wrong’ side,
               Definitions, Proper Course                         realised her mistake and turned back to unwind and pass
               Rule 2, Fair Sailing                               it  correctly,  leaving  it  to  port.  In  so  doing,  while  on
               Rule11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped               starboard  tack  and  outside  the  zone,  she  met  P,  which
                                                                  was running to the mark to leave it, correctly, to port.
               When  two  overlapped  boats  are  close-hauled  on  the
               same  tack  and  L  suddenly  heels  to  windward,  she   They collided. P was disqualified for breaking rule 10,
               maintains  her  rights  provided  her  action  is  not   and  appealed  on  the  grounds  that  S  should  have  kept
               deliberate. If L’s action is deliberate, with the intention   clear, since, at the time of the collision, she  had been
               of causing W to break rule 11, she breaks rule 2.   correcting  her  error  and  was  therefore  subject  to  the
                                                                  principles and rules that override normal rights of way
               A boat's course as used in the definition Proper Course   in  three  similar  situations  -  an  OCS  boat  returning  to
               is  her  course  made  good  over  the  ground,  not  the   start (rule 22.1), a boat taking a one-turn penalty after
               direction in which she is pointing.
                                                                  touching a  mark (rule 44.1), and a  boat taking a two-
                                                                  turns  penalty  for  breaking  a  rule  of  part  2  (also  rule
                                                                  44.1). In addition, she (P) and S were on different legs
                     Position 1                   Position 2      of the course, and S had interfered with her, contrary to
                                                                  rule 24.2.
                                     Wind
                                                                  DECISION
                                                                  P’s appeal is dismissed.
                                                                  Rules  22.1  and  44.1  apply  only  to  the  specific
                                                                  occurrences mentioned in each rule. A boat that has to
                                                                  unwind  before  rounding  to  comply  with  rule  28
                                                                  continues to have the rights and obligations in the rules
                                                                  of sections A to C of Part 2 (rules 10 to 21), including
                                                                  rule  18  during  her  unwinding  and  her  subsequent
                    L1          W1          L2       W2           rounding.  While  she  is  returning  to  a  mark  and
               QUESTION 1                                         unwinding at it, she is sailing the same leg of the course
               Two boats are close-hauled on the same tack. L, without   as any other boat sailing to that mark, added to which
               altering course, heels to windward so that her masthead   she is likely to be sailing a proper course, and so rule
               touches W’s mast or sail. Is it fair sailing?      24.2 could not apply between them.
               ANSWER 1                                           Heartbeat v Project X, Rickmansworth SC
               If  carried  out  deliberately  and  with  the  intention  of
               making W break a rule, it would break rule 2, and  W   RYA 1989/6
               will be exonerated for breaking rule 11 under 64.1(a),   Definitions, Rule
               provided  that  she  was  previously  keeping  clear,  as   Rule 2, Fair Sailing
               defined.  But  if  the  contact  is  caused  by,  for  instance,   Rule 84, Governing Rules
               wave motion or a wind shadow, L breaks no rule, and   Appendix J, 1.1(3), Notice of Race and Sailing
               W has not kept clear.                              Instructions: Notice of Race Contents
                                                                  Appendix J 2.1(2), Notice of Race and Sailing
               QUESTION 2                                         Instructions: Sailing Instruction Contents
               Is  a  boat's  course,  as  used  in  the  definition  Proper
               Course, the course made good, or the direction in which   ‘Other documents that govern the event’ in the definition
               she is pointing?                                   Rule must be stated or referred to in the notice of race
                                                                  and  in  the  sailing  instructions  before  they  become
               ANSWER 2                                           mandatory  for  boats  racing.  When  a  race  committee
               The definition Proper Course refers to the course made   considers  it  necessary  for  boats  to  adhere  to  local
               good over the ground, and not to the direction in which   regulations  or  prohibitions,  it  must  issue  an  explicit
               the boat is pointing.                              notice of race and sailing instructions to that effect.
               MR 3024 v NT 2476, Wyre Mill Club                  When no such notice or instructions are issued, a boat
               Question from University of London SC and BUSA
                                                                  that  does  not  comply  with  a  local  regulation  or
                                                                  prohibition does not break the Fair Sailing rule.
               RYA 1988/9
               Rule 18.1, Mark-Room: When Rule 18 Applies         SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Rule 24.2, Interfering with Another Boat           While  racing  in  light  winds  and  an  adverse  tide,  six
               Rule 28, Sailing the Course                        boats anchored in the area between Stansore and Egypt
                                                                  Points,  which  was  marked  on  a  chart  as  ‘Fishing  and
               The rights of a boat that passes a mark on the wrong   anchoring  prohibited’.  Sigmatic  did  not  anchor,  and,
               side,  without  touching  it,  and  is  unwinding,  are  not
               diminished in any way, she is sailing the same leg of the   believing  that  the  notice  on  the  chart  was  mandatory
                                                                  and  that  she  had  been  clearly  disadvantaged  by  not
               course as a boat rounding normally.
                                                                  kedging,  lodged  a  protest  against  them  claiming  that
                                                                  they had broken rule 2.

                                                              73
   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78