Page 72 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 72

action before the hail is given, she must be on the alert   merely  because  the  race  officer  had  made  an  error  in
               for it and, when it is made, must promptly respond to it.    giving a finishing place to a boat that had in fact retired.
                                                                  The  protest  committee  stated  in  its  observations  that
               Neither protestor nor protestee is required to produce a   when  the  race  started  the  warning  flag  had  not  been
               diagram of the incident.
                                                                  lowered  with  the  starting  signal,  thus  leading  to
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               confusion,  in  which  some  boats  started  late,  and  that
               L  and  W  were  close-hauled  on  port  tack,  one  boat   therefore the race should be abandoned.
               length apart, when they approached a number of boats   DECISION
               close-hauled  on  starboard  tack.  L  hailed  for  room  to   The appeals are upheld. The abandonment of the race is
               tack, a hail that was  not heard:  she then  hailed  again,   annulled and the race is reinstated. The five boats that
               tacked  at  the  same  time,  and  collided  with  W.  W,   completed  the  two-round  course  are  to  be  scored  for
               uncertain of her standing, took a two-turns penalty and   finishing  positions  in  the  sequence  in  which  they
               protested. L was disqualified under rule 13. The protest   finished.  The  boats  that  retired  (including  the
               committee  concluded  that  W  was  not  required  to   erroneously recorded ‘winner’) are to be scored RET.
               anticipate the need to tack, that L's inaudible first hail
               did not activate rule 20.2(b), and that L's tacking at the   The protest committee acted correctly in inquiring into
               same time as her second hail broke rule 20.2(a).   the occurrences before and at the start. However, there
                                                                  was  no  recall  signal  and  no  boats  were  recorded  as
               L  appealed  on  the  grounds  that  although  W  did  not   OCS;  no  boat  lodged  any  request  for  redress  on  the
               respond to her initial hail, she should have foreseen that   grounds that the start was unfair or that any scores were
               L would have to tack to avoid the starboard-tack boats.   prejudiced by the time differences when starting.
               She  also  appealed  because  W  had  not  provided  a
               diagram in her written protest.                    Request for Redress by Relax and Bat out of Hell, Parkstone YC
               DECISION                                           RYA 1988/7
               L’s appeal is dismissed.                           Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
               The conclusions of the protest committee are confirmed.   Rule 14(a), Avoiding Contact
               When W did not respond to the first hail, L should have   Rule 42.1, Propulsion
               hailed more loudly a second time. A hailed boat is not   When  a  keep-clear  boat  indicates  that  she  will  take
               required  to  take  any  action  before  an  audible  hail  is   avoiding action, a right-of-way boat is entitled to delay
               made,  although  she  must  be  on  the  alert  for  a   taking action to avoid contact.
               foreseeable hail, and, when it is made, she must respond
               promptly to it, as W did.                          A  boat  that  checks  way  by  abnormal  methods  not
                                                                  permitted  by  rule  42,  including  using  her  engine  in
               Neither protestor nor protestee is required by the rules   reverse, breaks that rule.
               to produce a diagram of the incident.
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               E20233 v OK1978, Reading Civil Service Club
                                                                  S (a Wayfarer) and P (a 10-ton yawl) were close-hauled
                                                                  on  converging  courses.  S  hailed  but  there  was  no
               RYA 1988/4                                         response.  About  15  seconds  before  the  collision,  P
               Rule 32, Shortening or Abandoning After the Start   hailed  S  to  the  effect  that  she  was  taking  avoiding
               Rule 64.2, Decisions: Decisions on Redress
                                                                  action. P’s bow hit S behind the mast shroud, causing
               When boats are entitled to redress, and the nature of the   considerable  damage.  P  had  her  engine  running  full
               appropriate redress is clear, a protest committee cannot   astern at the time. She did not retire.
               instead abandon the race, citing an error made by the   S protested under rule 10 and P counter-protested under
               race officer earlier in the race about which no boat has   rule  14.  The  protest  committee  disqualified  S,  for  not
               requested redress and the race committee has taken no   avoiding  contact  causing  damage  when  it  was
               action.
                                                                  reasonably  possible  to  have  done  so.  P  was  not
               SUMMARY                                            penalized. S appealed.
               Ten  Merlin  Rockets  started the  race  in  question.  Five   DECISION
               retired, four of them shortly after beginning the second   S’s  appeal  is  upheld;  P  broke  rules  10  and  42  and  is
               round because the wind was dying and there was a long   disqualified, S is to be reinstated.
               leg  against the tide.  The  fifth retired rather  further on
               but  without  passing  the  last  two  marks  of  the  course.   It  is  the  duty  of  a  port-tack  boat  to  keep  clear  of  a
               Returning,  she  crossed  the  finishing  line,  apparently   starboard-tack boat and not, as suggested by P, the other
               from the direction from the last course mark, was given   way round. P did not keep clear, and also broke rule 42
               a finishing signal and recorded as first. The other boats   by using her engine. She is disqualified.
               that sailed the course and finished were given positions
               behind the erroneously recorded ‘winner’.          P hailed that she was taking avoiding action, and by the
                                                                  time it then became clear that she was not going to keep
               The  five  other  boats  that  finished  correctly  requested   clear, it was not possible for S to act to avoid contact. In
               redress.  The  protest  committee’s  decision  was  to   the circumstances,  it was reasonable  for S to  hold her
               abandon the race. Two of the five boats appealed on the   course as long as she did.
               grounds  that  five  competitors  had  sailed  the  course   Smokey Grey v Callidus, Felixstowe SC
               correctly  and  should  not  be  deprived  of  their  results
                                                              72
   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77