Page 67 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 67

greater  or  lesser  extent,  a  conflict  of  interest.  The
               chairman  of  the  protest  committee  in  this  case  would
               have been well advised to refrain from serving on it.    Wind                   S5
               A person with a conflict of interest does not cease to be              P5
               such because a party to the hearing is willing to accept
               that person as a member of the protest committee.
                                                                                                   S4       S3
               Request for Redress by L85342, Sheppey YC                    Gull      P4
                                                                             Gull
                                                                            Island
                                                                           Island

               RYA 1984/3                                                             P3
               Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               When W can fulfil her obligation under rule 11 to keep
               clear only by tacking, she must  do so. No racing  rule
               requires  a  boat  to  keep  clear  simply  because  she  is       P2
               overtaking.
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Both  boats  were  sailing  close-hauled  on  port  tack  for    P1
               the  first  mark  when  L  became  overlapped  more  than
               two hull lengths to leeward of W. L slowly overtook W,   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               climbing up to weather as she did so, sailing a steady   Two  boats  were  beating  past  an  island.  P  had  borne
               converging  course  for  two  minutes.  A  collision   away  slightly  to  clear  this  obstruction  and  she  then
               followed. There was no damage. W protested L but was   luffed  to  close-hauled  on  a  collision  course  with  S.  S
               disqualified under rule 11 and appealed. In her original   hailed ‘Starboard’ and, when P took no notice, tacked to
               protest W maintained that L was in the wrong because   avoid a collision. S protested. P was disqualified under
               the overtaking  boat had a duty to keep clear, and she   rule  10  and  appealed  on  the  grounds  that  she  was
               asserted  in  her  appeal  that  L  should  have  anticipated   entitled to room under rule 19 or 20.
               that W would ‘fall down to leeward’ and thus be unable   DECISION
               to keep clear and that L should have allowed her room   P’s  appeal  is  dismissed.  Her  disqualification  for
               on this account.                                   breaking rule 10 is upheld.

               DECISION                                           Rule  19.2(b)  entitles  an  inside  boat  to  room  from  an
               W’s appeal is dismissed.                           outside boat when they are overlapped, as defined, at an
                                                                  obstruction. The term Overlap does not normally apply
               Rule 11 was correctly applied: one of its purposes has
               always  been  to  give  the  higher-pointing  of  two close-  to boats on opposite tacks. It may apply to boats at an
               hauled  converging  boats  the  benefit  of  her  superior   obstruction,  but  only  when  each  is  sailing  more  than
               windward  ability.  W  had  ample  room  to  keep  clear   ninety degrees  from the true wind, which was  not the
               when L established her leeward overlap. When W could   case here.
               not hold as high a course as L, and was in danger of not   P did not hail for room to tack, nor was she entitled to
               keeping clear, W was required to take whatever action   do so, since rule 20 applies only between boats that are
               was required to keep clear while she still had room to   approaching an obstruction on the same tack.
               do so, which in this case included tacking.
                                                                  P was required to alter course in time to keep clear of S
               Rule  17  was  not  relevant  because  the  overlap  was   by bearing away and passing astern of her.
               established at a distance of more than two hull lengths,
               but in any case L never sailed above a proper course.    Livewire v Force Tension, ISORA
               No  racing  rule  requires  a  boat  to  keep  clear  simply   RYA 1984/13
               because she is overtaking.                         Rule 91, Protest Committee
                                                                  Appendix J, 2.2(21), Notice of Race and Sailing
               Astral v Fun, Port Edgar YC
                                                                  Instructions: Sailing Instructions Contents
               RYA 1984/11                                        Sailing  instructions  must  describe  the  course  clearly,
               Definitions, Clear Astern and Clear Ahead: Overlap   including the location of the starting area.
               Rule 19.2(b), Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving
               Room at an Obstruction                             It is undesirable for a member of the race committee to
               Rule 20.1, Room to Tack at an Obstruction          serve on a protest committee when a request is made for
                                                                  redress for an action or omission of the race committee.
               At an obstruction, a close-hauled boat is not entitled to   It is desirable for a protest committee to consist of more
               room  under  either  rule  19  or  rule  20  from  another   than one person.
               close-hauled boat that is on the opposite tack. Rule 10
               alone governs such a situation.                    SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  Akela failed to arrive at the starting area in time for the
                                                                  start  and  requested  redress  on  the  grounds  that  the

                                                              67
   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72