Page 65 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 65

W did not comply with the requirement of rule 20.2(c)   RYA 1982/10
               to  tack  as  soon  as  possible  after  the  hail.  Her  own   Rule 28.2, Sailing the Course
               evidence  that  she  luffed  'gradually  and  progressively'   Rule 62.1(d), Redress
               does not accord with the requirement of the rule.
                                                                  A boat that has been forced the wrong side of a mark is
               She also broke rule 13, and rule 21 did not exonerate   not exempted by any rule from sailing the course, nor is
               her,  since  it  was  L  rather  than  W  that  was  entitled  to   redress normally available to her.
               room.  Indeed,  rule  21  exonerated  L  for  breaking  rule   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               16.1  by  bearing  away  into  the  collision,  since  L  was
               taking room to which she was entitled.             At a mark, I was overlapped inside O before the zone
                                                                  was reached, and was therefore entitled to mark-room
               L broke rule 14 as she could have avoided contact, but   under  the  first  sentence  of  rule  18.2(b).  There  was  a
               is exonerated in the absence of damage or injury.   collision just before the mark, and I, having no room to
                                                                  pass between O and the mark, left it to port, instead of
               Phantom Spinner v Early Bird, Ranelagh SC
                                                                  to starboard as required by sailing instructions. She did
                                                                  not subsequently return and pass it on the correct side.
               RYA 1982/7                                         She  protested  O.  The  protest  committee  disqualified
               Rule 26, Starting Races
               Rule 90.2,(c), Race Committee; Sailing Instructions;   both boats, O under rule 18.2(b)  for not giving  mark-
               Scoring: Sailing Instructions                      room, and I for failing to sail the course. It concluded
               Race Signals                                       that O’s breach had been careless rather than deliberate.
                                                                  I appealed.
               A  signal  comprises  both  a  flag  (or  object  of  similar
               appearance) and a sound signal, unless rule 26 applies.   DECISION
               Unless  the  sailing  instructions  state  otherwise,  sound   I’s appeal is dismissed.
               signals  without  visual  signals  have  no  particular   There  is  no  racing  rule  that  exempts  a  boat  from
               significance under the rules.                      complying  with  rule  28.2.  Even  had  she  returned,
               When oral instructions are not provided for in  sailing   unwound if necessary and then rounded on the correct
               instructions, instructions so given may be ignored.   side,  she  would  not  have  been  entitled  to  redress  for
                                                                  places lost, since none of the grounds in rule 62.1 was
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               applicable.  Rule  2  had  not  been  broken,  nor  would  a
               Several unidentified Lasers were on the course side of   hearing  under  rule  69  have  been  appropriate,  so  no
               the  starting  line  at  the  starting  signal,  and  the  race   request for redress under rule 62.1(d) in particular could
               officer decided to recall the start. He made two sound   have succeeded.
               signals but failed to display flag First Substitute. A hail
               of ‘General Recall’ was made over the address system.   Merlin 2666 v Merlin 2043, Goring on Thames SC
               L61772  had  heard  the  hail,  but,  in  the  absence  of  the
               flag, chose to ignore  it, She did  not believe  herself to   RYA 1982/13
                                                                  Definitions, Start
               have been on the course side of the starting line at the   Rule 28.2, Sailing the Course
               starting  signal.  The  rest  of  the  class  returned  and  the
               race was restarted.                                A boat that has not left a starting mark on the required
                                                                  side will start if she later crosses the starting line in the
               There  being  no  time  limit  for  a  boat to  start,  L61772   correct  direction,  provided  that  the  starting  line
               was  recorded  as  having  started  when  she  then   remains open.
               completed  her  first  round.  She  then  sailed  the  same
               number of further rounds as the rest of the fleet and was   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                          th
               recorded  as  having  finished  in  6   place  after  she  had   An  incident  at  the  start  resulted  in  Jessie  passing  the
               completed  one  more  round  than  the  boats  that  had   wrong  side  of  the  ODM  and  thus  failing  to  start
               restarted.  She  requested  redress,  claiming  that  her   correctly. She sailed two rounds of the course and then
               performance  in this and other races  showed that, boat   retired. Jessie won a protest against her concerning the
               for boat, she was likely to have had a better score had   starting line incident, but was scored DNS by the protest
               there been no race committee mistake. When the protest   committee. She appealed on the grounds that she should
               committee refused her request for redress, she appealed.   have  been  shown  as  RET  (which  resulted  in  a  better
                                                                  score  under  the  scoring  system  in  force)  because  she
               DECISION                                           started  correctly  when  she  began  her  second  round.
               L61772’s appeal is upheld. The case is returned to the   There was no time limit for starting.
               protest committee to decide the redress to be awarded.
                                                                  DECISION
               Sound  signals  without  visual  signals  have  no   Jessie’s appeal is upheld: she is to be scored RET.
               significance  in the racing  rules.  A  hail  is  not a sound
               signal – see case RYA 1977/1. On its own, the hail of   Initially, Jessie did not start. She then sailed once round
               ‘General Recall’ would have been effective only if the   the course, at the end of which she crossed the starting
               sailing  instructions  amended  the  requirement  in  rule   line  (and  now  started),  sailed  round  the  course  for  a
               29.2,  General  Recall,  to  display  flag  First  Substitute.   second time, and then retired. She had effectively sailed
               This was not the case.                             one round of the prescribed course. Jessie is therefore to
                                                                  be scored  RET. A boat starts when she  first crosses a
               Request for Redress by Laser 61772, Derwent SC
                                                                  starting  line  after  her  starting  signal,  within  any  time
                                                              65
   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70