Page 64 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 64

Whitewash  was disqualified without any further action   proceeded on the basis that the ‘protests’ were  in  fact
               being taken and she appealed.                      requests for redress.
               DECISION                                           There  was  nothing  in  the  appeals  to  show  that  the
               Whitewash’s appeal is valid as she was penalised when   protest  committee  was  wrong  to  decide  that  neither
               not a party to the hearing, contrary to rule 63.1 and was   boat’s score had, or may have, been made significantly
               denied  a  hearing  giving  her  the  right  of  appeal  under   worse by the race officer’s mistake in the timing of the
               rule 70.1(b).                                      starting signal.
               Whitewash’s  appeal  is  upheld,  and  she  is  to  be   Request for Redress by N3089 and E9574, Walton and Frinton YC
               reinstated to her finishing position.
                                                                  RYA 1982/6
               It was from the evidence at the hearing of the protest A   Rule 20.2, Room to Tack at an Obstruction: Responding
               v  B  that  the  protest  committee  first  had  grounds  for   Rule 21, Exoneration
               supposing that Whitewash, which was not a party to that
               hearing,  might  have  broken  a  rule..  As  stated  in  rule   A  boat  that  responds  to  a  hail  for  room  to  tack  by
               63.1,  Whitewash  could  not  be  penalised  without  a   starting  to  tack,  but  so  slowly  that  she  delays
               protest  hearing;  however,  the  protest  committee  was   completion of the tack beyond a reasonable time, is not
               permitted by rule 60.3(a)(2) to protest her. To do so, it   responding as soon as possible after the hail.
               was  required  by  rule  61.1(c)  to  close  the  current
               hearing,  to  inform  Whitewash  as  soon  as  reasonably
               possible  that  it  intended  to  protest  her,  and  then,  in             L4
               accordance  with  rule  61.2  and  63.2,  to  inform  her  in     W4
               writing,  identifying  the  incident,  and  give  her   Wind
               reasonable time to prepare for the hearing. The original                          L3
               protest  and  the  new  protest  had  then  to  be  heard
               together.
                                                                                  W3
               This procedure was not complied with and  Whitewash
               was disqualified without having been protested, or even                            L2
               informed  that  she  was  alleged  to  have  broken  a  rule.
               She  had  no opportunity to state her case or to call or           W2
               question witnesses. The protest committee’s procedures
               were flawed, and the reinstatement of Whitewash is the
               only appropriate outcome.                                                        L1
               Race Committee v Whitewash, Errwood SC                        W1
                                                                                      Water
               RYA 1982/3                                                             to tack,
               Rule 60.1, Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or               please!
               Rule 69 Action
               Rule 62.1(a), Redress
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                A boat is eligible for redress only when she can show
               that, through no fault of her own, her score or place has   L  and  W  were  tacking  in  a  light  wind  against  the
               been  or  may  be  made  significantly  worse.  She  cannot   current, taking full advantage of the slacker current by
               protest the race committee.                        the  bank.  They  were  overlapped  on  port  tack  when  L
                                                                  neared the bank and hailed for room to tack. There was
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               approximately a one-second delay between the hail and
               The starting signal was made one minute early but the   L  beginning  her  manoeuvre.  W  also  began  her
               race  officer  judged  it  advisable  to  allow  the  race  to   manoeuvre at the same time.
               continue. No boat was recalled. Two boats lodged what
               purported to be protests against the race committee. The   Both boats began tacking, W only slowly, and there was
               facts  were  not  in  dispute.  Neither  of  the  two  boats   contact without damage or injury between them after L
               delayed  her  start  until  the  correct  time.  The  protest   tacked to a close-hauled course on starboard tack when
               committee,  after  a  hearing,  held  that  no  boat’s  score   W had just passed beyond head to wind.
               had,  or  may  have,  been  made  worse  by  the  admitted   The protest committee disqualified W for breaking rules
               error, and decided to let the results stand. The two boats   13 and 20.2(c). W appealed, saying that she had started
               appealed.                                          to  tack  instantly  and  completed  her  tack  in  about  ten
                                                                  seconds which was not too long a period for a Merlin
               DECISION
               The appeals are dismissed.                         Rocket  in  light  winds.  Alternatively,  if  she  (W)  had
                                                                  broken  rule  13,  she  was  entitled  to  exoneration  under
               A boat cannot protest the race committee; she can seek   rule 21.
               redress under rule 62.1(a) and must show that, through
               no fault of her own, her score was, or may have been,   DECISION
               made  significantly  worse  by  an  error  of  the  race   W’s appeal is dismissed.
               committee. The protest committee was correct to have   W was still in the process of tacking nine to ten seconds
                                                                  after the hail, when L had already completed her tack.
                                                              64
   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69