Page 59 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 59

did not deliberately hit P, although she was keeping no   Rule 21(a): Exoneration
               lookout to leeward. P's helmsman was experienced, S’s
               was  inexperienced.  S  protested  under  rule  10  while  P   When a boat tacks, the question of whether an overlap
                                                                  is created is decided at the moment she passes head to
               protested under rule 14.
                                                                  wind, but rule 17 will never apply to the leeward boat if
               The protest committee disqualified P under rule 10, but   the overlap is created while the windward boat is still
               did not find S to have broken rule 14, as her effort to   subject to rule 13.
               avoid  a  collision  was  reasonable  for  an  inexperienced   A boat that luffs above close-hauled to pass to windward
               helmsman, even though she did not act to avoid contact
               until  after  it  was  clear  that  P  was  not  going  to  keep   of a mark is not sailing above a proper course.
               clear. P appealed.                                 A  right-of-way  boat  is  exonerated  if  she  breaks  rule
                                                                  16.1 while sailing a proper course at a mark and taking
               DECISION                                           mark-room to which she is entitled.
               P’s  appeal  is  dismissed,  and  her  disqualification  is
               confirmed. In addition, S is also disqualified, under rule
               14.                                                                                W4
               P did not keep clear, and was correctly disqualified. The          Wind
               test of whether it was reasonably possible for S to avoid
               contact  is  an  objective  one.  The  inexperience  of                    W3             L4
               helmsman  or  crew  cannot  justify  a  lower  standard  of
               care.
               Jemalda v Sudo & v.v., Royal Cornwall YC                                              L3
                                                                                 W2
               RYA 1975/5
               Definitions, Room
               Rule 16.1, Changing Course                                   W1               L2
               Rule 16.2, Changing Course
               S’s response to a wind shift must not deprive P of room
               to keep clear, or, after the starting signal, oblige P (if           L1
               sailing a course to keep clear by passing astern of S) to
               change course immediately to continue keeping clear.
               QUESTION                                           SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               When two boats, close-hauled or reaching on opposite   W  crossed  L  and  tacked,  outside  the  finishing  line
               tacks,  meet,  at  what  distance  in  hull  lengths  must the   mark’s zone. L established a leeward overlap before W
               right-of-way boat, S, hold her course and not follow a   was on a close-hauled course. L and W approached the
               wind shift, thus preventing P from keeping clear?   finishing  mark  close-hauled  and  overlapped,  both  on
                                                                  port tack, nearly a hull-length apart. W was laying the
               ANSWER                                             mark,  while  L  could  fetch  it  by  pinching.  L  luffed  to
               It  is  not  possible  to  lay  down  any  precise  distance  in   shoot the mark on the required side and hit W on her
               hull  lengths  since  this  will  vary  according  to  the   starboard quarter. There was no damage. L did not go
               existing conditions and the class of boat concerned.   beyond  head  to  wind.  After  hearing  the  protest  and

               If it is after the starting signal, if the boats are about to   counter-protest,  the  protest  committee  disqualified  W
               cross, and if P is otherwise keeping clear of S by sailing   for failing to give L room to pass the mark. W appealed.
               a course to pass astern of her, rule 16.2 prohibits S from   DECISION
               changing course by bearing away, if as a result P would   W’s appeal is dismissed.
               immediately need to change to continue keeping clear.
                                                                  W  became  a  port-tack  boat  when  she  passed  head  to
               Before the starting signal, or if P and S are already on a   wind. At that moment, she was clear ahead of L. L then
               collision  course,  or  if  P  is  sailing  to  keep  clear  by   established  a  leeward overlap  from clear astern before
               passing to windward of S, S may change course at any   W  reached  a  close-hauled  course.  W  was  required  to
               time in response to a wind shift, unless she is so close to   keep clear by rule 11 and then to give mark-room after
               P that S's change of course would not give P room to   zone entry by the first sentence of rule 18.2(b). Initially,
               keep clear. Room is defined as the space P needs in the   W kept clear and gave  L room to sail to the  mark. L
               existing  conditions  while  manoeuvring  promptly  in  a   then  luffed  to  fetch  the  mark.  L  was  sailing  a  proper
               seamanlike way.                                    course at the mark. A proper course is defined as one
               Question from Dorchester SC                        that a boat would sail to finish as soon as possible in the
                                                                  absence of the other boats referred to in the rule using
               RYA 1975/6                                         the term. L would have pinched or shot head to wind in
               Definitions, Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap   order to finish as quickly as possible whether or not W
               Definitions, Proper Course                         was near, and so was sailing a proper course.
               Rule 13, While Tacking                             L  was  therefore  taking  mark-room  to  which  she  was
               Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course           entitled. W was required to keep clear and give mark-
               Rule 18.2 (b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room
                                                              59
   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64