Page 56 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 56

must be between the committee boat and a mark, or at a   protest committee protested her and found that she had
               line or a gate.                                    broken  rule  48.1,  Fog  Signals  and  Lights;  Traffic
                                                                  Separation  Schemes.  It  imposed  a  5%  time  penalty.
               When  sailing  instructions  include  an  obligation  that   Barada  appealed  on  the  grounds  that  the  protest  was
               applies before or after a boat is racing, a boat may be   invalid  and  that  no  provision  was  made  in  the  sailing
               penalized  for  breaking  that  rule.  The  penalty  is  to  be   instructions for that penalty.
               applied to the race nearest in time to the incident.
                                                                  DECISION
               ASSUMED FACTS FOR QUESTION 1                       Barada’s  first  ground  of  appeal  is  dismissed.  Her
               On  a  triangular  course,  the  wind  falls  light  and  it   second  ground  of  appeal  is  upheld,  but  her  penalty  is
               becomes  necessary  to  shorten  course.  A  launch  is   changed to disqualification.
               placed on the reach between marks one and two, flag S
               is displayed with two sound signals, and the boats are   Barada stated in her declaration that she had not shown
               timed  when  they  cross  a  line  projected  from  the   navigation  lights.  This  admission  entitled  the  protest
               timekeeper through the mast of the launch.         committee  (or  the  race  committee)  to  protest  her,  as
                                                                  permitted  by  rules  60.2(a)  and  60.3(a).  Those  rules
               QUESTION 1                                         preclude a race committee or a protest committee from
               Is this procedure acceptable?
                                                                  protesting  based  on  information  from  a  person  with  a
               ANSWER 1                                           conflict of  interest, and  Barada’s  representative  had a
               No, it does not comply with rule 32.2. When the race   conflict of interest, as defined, since her report opened
               officer  wishes  to  use  a  transit  line  from  a  race   her  to  protest  and  penalization.  However,  those  rules
               committee  vessel,  the  line  must  be  described  in  the   make  a  specific  exception  for  information  from  the
               sailing instructions which, to comply with rules 25 and   representative  of  the  boat  herself.  The  protest
               85.1, must also state that rule 32.2 and the meaning of   committee’s protest was therefore valid.
               flag S are changed.
                                                                  The only penalty a protest committee  may  impose  for
               ASSUMED FACTS FOR QUESTION 2                       breaking  a  rule,  unless  otherwise  stated  in  the  racing
               Club byelaws state that personal flotation devices must   rules or in the sailing instructions, is disqualification.
               be worn at all times when afloat. This is repeated in the   Protest Committee v Barada, Royal Malta Yacht Club
               sailing instructions. A helmsman enters for a race and
               goes  for  a  short trial  spin  without  wearing  a  personal   RYA 1969/12
               flotation device; he puts it on just before the preparatory   Rule 62.1(a), Redress
               signal. His boat is protested and, despite his maintaining
               that sailing instructions did not become operative until   A race committee action or omission may be improper,
               this signal, she is disqualified.                  even  if  no  rule  is  broken,  and  even  when  it  occurs
                                                                  before the preparatory signal.
               QUESTION 2
               Is her disqualification valid?                     SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  About 15 minutes before the preparatory signal the race
               ANSWER 2                                           officer moved the starting line about half a mile from its
               Yes.  When  a  boat  breaks  a  sailing  instruction  that  is   original  location.  In  spite  of  a  boat  being  sent  to tow
               stated to apply before or after a boat is racing, rule 64.1   them,  two  boats  arrived  respectively  four  and  seven
               says that she is to be penalized in the race sailed nearest   minutes late for the start. They started, and were the last
               in time to that of the incident.                   to  finish.  They  requested  redress  because  the  race
               Questions from Prestwick SC                        officer had moved the line without a postponement that
                                                                  was long enough to allow them to reach the new line.
               RYA 1969/11                                        The  request  was  refused  on  the  grounds  that  the  race
               Rule 60.2(a), Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress   officer did not break the sailing instructions. The boats
               or Rule 69 Action                                  appealed.
               Rule 60.3(a), Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress   DECISION
               or Rule 69 Action                                  The appeals are upheld, and the cases are returned to the
               Rule 64.1, Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
                                                                  protest committee to award redress.
               When  a  declaration  after  finishing  is  required  by  a   The  race  officer  laid  a  fresh  starting  line  without
               sailing instruction and when a boat states in hers that she   adequately postponing the start of the race to enable the
               has  broken  a  rule,  the  race  committee  or  protest   boats  to  reach  the  new  position  and  to  manoeuvre  to
               committee is entitled to protest her. In the absence of any   obtain a good start. This made their scores significantly
               other applicable penalty in the sailing instructions, there   worse: it was improper, even though  it  broke no racing
               is no alternative to disqualification for breaking a rule.
                                                                  rule or sailing instruction; and the boats were not at fault.
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               Request for Redress by Ajira and Goldcrest, Dale YC
               The  sailing  instructions  required  boats  to  sign  a
               declaration  after  finishing  to  confirm  that  they  had   RYA 1973/5
               complied with the rules. After a race lasting two days,   Rule 20.1, Room to Tack at an Obstruction: Hailing
               Barada  lodged  her  signed  declaration,  adding  the   Rule 20.2, Room to Tack at an Obstruction: Responding
               sentence: ‘Except that during the hours 0200 to 0500 we
               were  forced  to  sail  without  navigation  lights…’  The
                                                              56
   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61