Page 58 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 58

PL5
                                    S5
                        PW5
                                                Wind
                          PW4       PL4  S4                                         Wind
                         PW3
                                       PL3
                No room!  PW2                                                   W3
                                           S3
                                        PL2                                                 W2
                  PW1                                                  W4
                          Room to                S2
                         tack, please!
                                     PL1                                           L3              L2
                                                      S1
                                                Starboard!                         L4
                                                                                              W1          L1
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               PL  and  PW  were  close-hauled.  PL  could  not  tack
               without  colliding  with  PW.  Both  boats  came  on  a
               converging course with S.

               S hailed ‘Starboard’ and PL hailed for room to tack. She   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               then  luffed  to  avoid  contact  with  S.  PW,  intending  to   W completed a tack inside the zone, immediately after
               cross S, held her course and informed PL that she had   which L, which had been fetching the mark, established
               no rights under rule 20.1.                         a leeward overlap. W hailed 'No room' and bore away to
                                                                  pass the mark. L, to avoid contact, was forced to bear
               PL continued to luff and then tacked. Finally PW tacked   away, pass the wrong side of the mark and circle back.
               too.  PW  protested  PL  under  rule  13.  The  protest   The  protest  committee  dismissed  L's  protest  on  the
               committee dismissed the protest, disqualified PW under   grounds that L's overlap was established after W’s tack
               rule 20.1, and referred the case to the RYA.
                                                                  was completed and referred its decision to the RYA.
               DECISION                                           DECISION
               The decision of the protest committee to disqualify PW   The protest committee's decision is reversed. W is to be
               is confirmed.
                                                                  disqualified.
               The protest  committee correctly decided that S, close-  Before W tacked, rule 18 did not apply, since, as stated
               hauled,  holding  right  of  way  under  rule  10,  was  an   in  rule  18.1(b), the  boats  were on  opposite tacks,  and
               obstruction, as defined, to PL. PL was required to make   also because W’s proper course in passing the mark was
               a substantial course change to clear S, either by bearing   to  tack.  When  W  tacked  within  the  zone,  rule  18.3
               away  hard  or  by  tacking  to  clear  the  obstruction.   began  to  apply.  The  question  of  whether  an  overlap
               Although PL could have avoided S by bearing away, no   began outside the zone is relevant at a windward mark
               rule required  her to  do so and she was entitled, under   only  to  boats  on  the  same  tack,  under  rule  18.2(b).
               rule 20.1, to hail for room to tack. When S hailed, PW   Overlaps established by a tack in the zone are addressed
               was  required  by  rule  20.2  to  respond  as  soon  as   either by rule 18.2(a) or (as here when W after tacking
               possible,  she  did  not  do  so  and  was  correctly   is fetching the mark) by rule 18.3.
               disqualified.
                                                                  W was required  by rule 18.3  to give  mark-room to L
               Lindy v Symphony, St Mawes SC
                                                                  and by rule 11 to keep clear when L became overlapped
                                                                  inside  her.  W  prevented  L  from  passing  the  mark  by
               RYA 1974/8
               Rule 18.3, Mark-Room: Tacking in the Zone          denying her mark-room, did not keep clear of her, and is
                                                                  to be disqualified.
               When  a  port-tack  boat  tacks  to  starboard  within  the
               zone at a windward port-hand mark, and a boat that is   Aurora v Carinna, Loch Long OD Association
               approaching  the  mark  on  starboard  tack  becomes   RYA 1975/4
               overlapped  inside  her,  the  boat  that  tacked  must  not   Rule 14, Avoiding Contact
               prevent  the  other  boat  from  passing  the  mark  on  the
               required side, and must keep clear of her.         The  test  of  whether  it  was  reasonably  possible  for  a
                                                                  right-of-way boat to avoid contact is an objective one,
                                                                  and the inexperience of her helmsman cannot justify a
                                                                  lower standard of care.
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  P,  close-hauled,  was  approaching  the  windward,
                                                                  starboard-hand  mark  when  one  of  her  crew  told  the
                                                                  helmsman to bear away  hard, as P was on a collision
                                                                  course  with  S  which  had  passed  the  mark  and  was
                                                                  reaching towards P in the direction of the finishing line.
                                                                  Both  boats  tried,  but  failed,  to  alter  course  to  avoid
                                                                  contact. The boats collided and both suffered damage. S

                                                              58
   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63