Page 60 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 60

room,  and  did  neither.  W  was  properly  disqualified,   DECISION
               under rules 11 and 18.2(b), while L was exonerated for   B’s  appeal  upheld.  She  is  to  be  reinstated  into  her
               any breach of rule 16.1 because of rule 21(a).     finishing position, and A is disqualified.
               Because  the  overlap  began  while  W  was  required  by   When A entered the zone clear ahead, B was required to
               rule 13 to keep clear, rule 17 did not apply.      keep clear under rule 12 and to give A mark-room under
                                                                  the second sentence of rule 18.2(b), both of which she
               If the facts had been otherwise, and W had completed   did. When A passed head to wind rule 18.2(b) ceased to
               her  tack  before  L  established  her  overlap  within  two   apply, as stated in rule 18.2(d). At that moment no part
               hull  lengths  from  clear  astern,  L’s  course  would  not   of rule 18 applied. (Rule 18 would also have ceased to
               have broken rule 17, since, for the reasons stated above,   apply  if  it  had  been  B  that  had  been  the  first  to  pass
               she never sailed above a proper course.
                                                                  head to wind, because of rule 18.1(a).) While both boats
               Janet v Minx, Portsmouth SC                        were then between head to wind and close-hauled at the
                                                                  same time B, astern of  A, was required  by rule  13 to
               RYA 1976/2                                         keep clear of A, and she did so. B broke no rule.
               Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 13, While Tacking                             As both boats bore away, A was required by rule 16.1 to
               Rule 18.2(a), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room          give  B  room  to  keep  clear.  A  did  so  while  rule  13
               Rule 18.2(b), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room          applied. When they became overlapped A, as an outside
               Rule 18.2(d), Mark-Room: Giving Mark-Room          boat, was required by rule 18.2(a) to give mark-room to
                                                                  B but by continuing to bear away below a close-hauled
               When  two  close-hauled  boats  are  in  the  zone  of  a   course A failed to do so. Once both boats had reached a
               windward mark, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply when one   close-hauled  course,  B  had  become  the  right  of  way
               of them tacks.                                     boat under rule 11, requiring A to keep clear, which she
                                                                  did  not  do,  despite  having  room  to  do  so.  There  was
               When two boats are subject to rule 13 at the same time
               the one astern must keep clear.                    contact which it was possible for A to avoid. A broke
                                                                  rules 18.2(a), 11 and 14.
               If they then become overlapped on the same tack inside
               the  zone,  the  outside  boat  shall  give  the  inside  boat   Shamaal v Jan & v.v., Sunderland YC
               mark-room under rule 18.2(a).
                                                                  RYA 1977/1
                                                                  Rule 29.1, Recalls: Individual Recall
                                                                  Race Signals: Flag X
                                    Wind                          A  hail  does  not  constitute  the  sound  signal  of  an
                                                                  individual recall  signal.  It  is reasonable to  expect  the
                                       A4                         recall  sound  signal  to  be  equally  as  audible  as  the
                                                                  starting sound signal.
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  The race committee’s sound signals were audible at any
                                                A3
                                        B4                        point  of  the  starting  line.  At  the  starting  signal  for  a
                                                                  race, three boats were on the course side of the starting
                                        A2                        line. Flag X was displayed and a hail of ‘Numbers 13,
                                                B3
                                                                  16 and 20, you are over’ was shouted twice. Number 13
                                                                  heard and returned. Numbers 16 and 20 did not believe
                                                                  themselves to be OCS, did  not  hear the hail,  failed to
                                                                  return  and  were  scored  OCS.  They  requested  redress,
                            A1             B2                     which was refused by the protest committee, and they
                                                                  appealed.
                                                                  DECISION
                                                                  The appeals of numbers 16 and 20 are upheld. The case
                                B1                                is returned to the protest committee to decide redress.
                                                                  A sound signal must be made when flag X is displayed.
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               A hail is not a sound signal. Whatever the sound signal
               Two boats, A and B, approached a mark on port tack, A   used with the starting signal, it would be reasonable to
               clear ahead of B. Both boats tacked inside the zone, A   expect the recall sound signal to be equally audible. The
               passing head to wind before B. When their tacks were   statement  in  sailing  instructions  that  ‘whenever
               completed  they  found  themselves  overlapped,  both  on   practicable,  sail  numbers  of  recalled  boats  will  be
               starboard  tack,  with  A  to  windward  of  B.  There  was   hailed, but this cannot be claimed as a right’ does not
               then  a  collision  not  involving  damage.  Both  boats   negate the requirement for a suitable sound signal. See
               protested  and  the  protest  committee  disqualified  B   WS  Case  31,  both  as  concerns  the  principle  of  this
               under rule 18.2(b). B appealed.                    appeal and the redress to be awarded.
                                                                  Request for Redress by Windhover, Hoylake SC


                                                              60
   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65