Page 55 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 55

ASSUMED FACTS                                      DECISION
               After  the  third  race  of  a  four-race  series  with  one   W’s  appeal  is  upheld.  She  is  reinstated,  and  L  is
               discard,  B  would  win  the  series  if  she  could  win  the   disqualified under rule 19.2(b).
               fourth  race.  Otherwise,  A  would  win  the  series.  Both
               boats  started  correctly.  At  and  after  the  start,  A   There  is  no  zone  at  an  obstruction  -  continuing  or
                                                                  otherwise - at which rule 19 applies, and so the situation
               deliberately  maintained  a  windward  overlap  on  B,
               carrying her well past the point where she would have   when one of the boats comes within three hull lengths
                                                                  of an obstruction is not relevant. Rule 19.2(c) says that
               wished to have tacked.
                                                                  the inside boat’s right to establish an overlap between a
               When it became apparent that B was virtually out of the   boat and a continuing obstruction depends on whether
               running, A tacked, and both boats then found themselves   there  was  room,  as  defined,  to  pass  between  the  boat
               a  long  way  behind  the  rest  of  the  fleet.  A  continued   that  was  ahead  and  the  continuing  obstruction  at  the
               racing, and finished. It was clear that A did not try to win   moment the overlap was established.
               the race, nor was she interested in doing so.
                                                                  When  W  established  her  overlap,  there  was  room  to
               QUESTION                                           pass  between  L  and  the  shore,  and  the  overlap  was
               Could B have won a protest against A?              therefore  properly  established.  L  initially  then  gave
                                                                  room  as  required  by  rule  19.2(b)  but  ceased  to  do  so
               ANSWER                                             when  the  projecting  shallows  were  reached.  These
               No.  In  these  circumstances,  interfering  with  an   shallows and the adjacent  brick  structure were part of
               opponent does not break rule 2, Fair Sailing, nor does it   the  continuing  obstruction,  and  W  continued  to  be
               break rule 24.2, Interfering with Another Boat, because   entitled to room.
               although A ceased to sail her proper course, the boats
               were on the same leg of the course. See WS Case 78.   Bald Eagle v Poseidon, Blue Circle SC
               Question from Ullswater SC
                                                                  RYA 1968/15
                                                                  Rule 63.2, Hearings: Time and Place of the Hearing;
               RYA 1968/11                                        Time for Parties to Prepare
               Rule 19.2(b), Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving
               Room at an Obstruction                             A  boat  that  claims  that  she  has  not  been  allowed
               Rule 19.2(c), Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving   reasonable time to prepare her defence must raise this
               Room at an Obstruction                             objection  at  the  beginning  of  a  hearing  of  the  protest
                                                                  against her.
               There  is  no  zone  at  an  obstruction  to  which  rule  19
               applies.  A  boat  astern  and  required  to  keep  clear  is   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               entitled to room if she becomes overlapped between the   After  a  protest  under  a  rule  of  Part  2  and  a  hearing,
               boat  that  was  ahead  and  a  continuing  obstruction,   Sylphide was disqualified. She appealed on the grounds
               provided  that  there  was  room  to  pass  between  them   that a copy of the protest had not been made available to
               when the overlap began.                            her, that she was given no time to prepare a defence or
                                                                  find possible witnesses, and that she did not know the
               When  the  nature  of  a  continuing  obstruction  changes   basis of the protest until summoned to appear before the
               because of a projection or shallows, these features form   protest  committee  when  the  protest  was  read  by  the
               part of the continuing obstruction, and a boat that has   chairman.
               properly established an inside overlap is then entitled to
               any necessary additional room.                     The  protest  committee  observed  that  the  protest  had
                                                                  been  read  out  three  times  and  had  been  available  for

                                                                  inspection. Sylphide  made no complaint at the hearing
                                                                  nor  did  she  ask  for  an  extension  of  time  to  prepare  a
                                                                  defence.
                                    Water!
                                                                  DECISION
                W1     W2     W3     W4    W5
                                                                  Sylphide’s appeal is dismissed.
                      L1   L2    L3   L4   L5                     At the hearing of the protest, Sylphide did not complain
                                                                  that she had no time to prepare a defence nor did she
                                                                  ask for an extension. Therefore, her appeal fails.
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               W established an overlap on L between positions 1 and   Ffareida v Sylphide, Monklands SC
               2 when L was one and a half to two boat lengths from
               the  shore.  Several  boat-lengths  ahead,  some  shallows   RYA 1969/1
               extended from the shore from a brickwork structure. W   Rule 25, Notice of Race, Sailing Instructions and
               hailed ‘Water’ but L, although acknowledging the hail,   Signals
               made no attempt to give room and W ran aground.    Rule 32.2, Shortening or Abandoning After the Start
                                                                  Rule 64.1, Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
               W protested L under rules 19.2(b) and 19.2(c), but the   Rule 85.1, Changes to Rules
               protest  committee  dismissed  the  case,  stating  that  W
               had tried to force a passage between L and the shore, L   Unless  the  sailing  instructions  state  otherwise,  when
               having  been  clear  ahead  when  she  came  within  three   courses  are  shortened  using  flag  S,  the  finishing  line
               hull lengths of the obstruction. W appealed.
                                                              55
   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60