Page 54 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 54

mark or obstruction may happen to have or that is quite   keep clear. Rule 16.2 does not apply before the starting
               validly  made relevant by  a sailing  instruction, such as   signal,  nor  when  a  port-tack  boat  is  keeping  clear  by
               ‘leave channel marks on the channel side’, or ‘pass to   sailing  to  pass  ahead  of,  or,  when  reaching,  to
               the north of xx’.                                  windward of a starboard-tack boat.

               However, rule 19.2(b) did not create any entitlement to   A hail of ‘Hold your course!’ places no obligation on
               room for either boat. The situations at a mark under rule   the hailed boat.
               18  and  at  an  obstruction  under  rule  19  are  different.
               When a mark is being approached on the same tack by
               boats  on  widely  differing  courses,  an  obligation  will   Wind      P4
               apply from zone entry onwards for the one that will be
               outside at the mark to give room to the other, with the   P2     P3          S4
               mark on the same required side for both – see WS case
               12  and  RYA  case  2004/8.  Under  rule  19,  there  is  no   Hold your  S3   Starboard!  S1
                                                                             course!
                                                                                                  S2
               zone,  and  the  obstruction  may  be  left  to  port  or  to   P1
               starboard,  as  decided  by  the  right-of-way  boat. Room
               then  has  to  be  given  at  the  obstruction  by  an  outside
               boat. Although PW and PL were overlapped, the terms   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               ‘outside’ and ‘inside’ are not capable of applying at an   During pre-start manoeuvres, about fifty seconds before
               obstruction  to  boats  approaching  each  other  at  such  a   the starting signal, two boats were reaching away from
               divergent angle.                                   the  line  on  starboard  tack.  P  tacked  onto  port  tack,
               Ariadne v Inyala, Western Province SA              intending  to  pass  ahead  of  S.  P  hailed  ‘Hold  your
                                                                  course’,  but  S  luffed,  hailing  ‘Starboard’  more  than
               RYA 1967/3                                         once. P did not immediately respond. S then tacked in
               Rule 29.1, Recalls: Individual Recall              order  to  avoid  contact.  Both  boats  protested,  P  under
                                                                  rule 16, S under rule 10.
               A  boat  returning  to  start  after  a  recall  is  entitled  to
               consider that the  removal  of flag  X indicates that  she   The protest committee found that P had ample room to
               has  returned  completely  to  the  pre-start  side  of  the   keep  clear  of  S  after  S  had  luffed  to  a  close-hauled
               starting line.                                     course.  P's  protest  was  dismissed  and  she  was
                                                                  disqualified under rule 10. She appealed on the grounds
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               that S had  failed to observe both rule 16.1 and 16.2 by
               When the starting signal was made, Uncle Sam was over   altering course after she, P, had hailed, and by continuing
               the line; an individual recall was signalled and she turned   to luff until (in P’s opinion) there was risk of contact.
               back for the starting line. When she saw flag X lowered,
               believing that she had returned completely to the pre-start   DECISION
               side  of  the  starting  line,  she  hardened  up  and  sailed   P’s appeal is dismissed.
               towards the first mark of the course. In fact flag X had   A hail of ‘Hold your course!’ is merely an assertion by
               been removed before she recrossed the starting line. She   the hailing boat that she can keep clear as required if the
               was scored OCS, and requested redress.
                                                                  hailed  boat  does  not  change  course  towards  her.  It
               This was refused on the grounds that the words in the   places no obligation on the hailed boat to comply.
               sailing instruction ‘The responsibility for returning will   S was entitled to harden up to a close-hauled course on
               rest with the helmsman concerned’ meant that the race   starboard  tack  because  P  thereafter  had  room  to  keep
               officer’s mistake in lowering the recall flag prematurely   clear, and so rule 16.1 was not broken. Even if S’s luff
               in  no  way  relieved  her  of  her  responsibility.  She   had  made  P  need  to  change  course  immediately  to
               appealed.
                                                                  continue keeping clear, rule 16.2 did  not apply  as the
               DECISION                                           incident  occurred  before  the  starting  signal.  If  the
               Uncle  Sam’s  appeal  is  upheld,  and  she  is  to  be   incident had occurred after the starting signal, rule 16.2
               reinstated into her finishing position.            would  not apply  when the port-tack boat was keeping
                                                                  clear by sailing to pass ahead of or, when both boats are
               She  was  entitled  to  interpret  the  lowering  of  the   reaching, to windward of S. P, being on port tack, was
               individual recall signal as  confirmation of  her opinion   required by rule 10 to keep clear of S, and was correctly
               that  she  had  correctly  returned  to  start.  The  race   disqualified under that rule for not doing so.
               committee cannot escape its obligations by placing the
               responsibility on the boat concerned.              Nausicaa v Sylmer, Karachi SC
               Request for Redress by Uncle Sam, Montrose SC
                                                                  RYA 1967/13
                                                                  Rule 2, Fair Sailing
               RYA 1967/5                                         Rule 24.2, Interfering with Another Boat
               Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks
               Rule 16.1, Changing Course                         When a boat  that  starts and finishes deliberately uses
               Rule 16.2, Changing Course                         the right-of-way rules to ‘sail off’ another on the same
                                                                  leg of the course to benefit her own series position, she
               A keep-clear boat may not invoke rule 16.1 against the   does not break rule 2 or rule 24.2.
               right-of-way  boat  when  she  has  been  given  room  to

                                                              54
   49   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59