Page 61 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 61

RYA 1977/7                                         RYA 1980/2
               Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped              Definitions, Finish
               Rule 19.1, Room to Pass an Obstruction: When Rule 19   Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course
               Applies                                            Rule 86.1(b), Changes to the Racing Rules
               Rule 19.2, Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving Room   A hook-round finish is contrary to the definition Finish,
               at an Obstruction
                                                                  and  sailing  instructions  are  not  permitted  to  alter  a
                When two overlapping same-tack boats are less than one   definition. When the course is shortened and a course
               hull length apart, and when another boat clear astern is   mark  becomes  a  finishing  line  mark,  its  required  side
               closing on them,  the  right  of  way  boat  will  rank  as  an   may change.
               obstruction to the other two boats. The boat clear astern
               may establish an overlap between the boats ahead, with
               an entitlement from the windward boat to room, provided                  B
               that the windward boat is able to give room.                                 Course of
                                                                                            protestees
               When  a boat  is  required to  act  to  keep clear, no rule   C                          A
                                                                                               protestors
               entitles her to room to avoid becoming OCS.                       D (OLM)      Course of

                                                                                         Finishing Line
                                        W2

                       Wind                  W1
                                                                  SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                 L2     M2                        A course was set round the marks shown in the diagram
                                                                  as follows: ‘A - D - A - B - C – D (two rounds), then A
                                                 M1               – D – A – B – C – finish; Round all marks to port.’
                                        L1
                                                                  The race officer signalled a shortened course when the

               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               boats  had  completed  one  round  and  the  leading  boat
               Approaching the starting line, M established an overlap   was  approaching  D  for  the  first  time  in  the  second
               from clear astern between L and W. W took no action to   round, so that the course actually sailed was A - D - A -
               keep  clear,  and  there  was  then  contact  (not  involving   B - C – D, then A - D). Some boats left D to port, then
               damage or  injury)  between M and  W.  W protested M   crossed the finishing line from the direction of mark C,
               under  rule  15,  on  the  grounds  that  she  had  not  been   and  were  given  finishing  positions.  The  race  officer
               given room to keep clear. The protest committee found   scored  as  DNF  the  numerous  boats  that  crossed  the
               that, had she acted promptly, W could have kept clear   finishing line leaving D to starboard.
               when  M  became  overlapped  to  leeward  of  her.  It   These boats sought redress and protested the rest of the
               disqualified  W  for  failing  to  keep  clear  under  rule  11   fleet,  maintaining  that  they  themselves  had  finished
               and W appealed, claiming that to have done so would   correctly,  in  that  they  had  crossed  the  finishing  line
               have  meant  sheeting  in,  moving  forwards  faster  and   from  the  course  side  from  the  last  mark,  A,  leaving
               becoming OCS, and that she (W) was entitled to room   mark  D  to  starboard,  whereas  the  protestees  had
               from M to prevent this happening.                  rounded mark D to port and crossed the finishing line
               DECISION                                           from the wrong direction.
               W’s appeal is dismissed.                           The  protest  committee  dismissed  the  protests  and
               L and W were overlapped, abreast, less than one length   requests, affirming that the protestees, in leaving D to
               apart. W, the windward boat was required to keep clear   port,  had  sailed  the  prescribed  course.  The  protestors
               of L under rule 11. M was also required to keep clear of   appealed.
               L, first under rule 12 and then under rule 11. Therefore,   DECISION
               L ranked as an obstruction to both  W and M.  M was   The  appeals  are  upheld.  The  protestors  are  reinstated
               initially required to keep clear of W under rule 12, but   and the protestees are disqualified.
               when  she  became overlapped to leeward,  W  was then
               required  to  keep  clear  of  her  under  rule  11.   Rule 86.1(b) states that the sailing instructions may not
               Furthermore, because M was the inside overlapped boat   alter  the  definitions;  hence  a  'hook-round'  finish  can
               at an obstruction W was also required  by rule 19.2 to   never be valid.
               give her room to pass L.                           When  mark  D  became  the  outer  limit  mark  of  the
               W did not keep clear, although given room to do so, and   finishing  line,  it  ceased  to  be  a  rounding  mark  and
               was correctly disqualified for breaking rule 11. No rule   became  a  finishing  line  limit  mark  to  be  passed  in
               entitles a boat required to act to keep clear to room to   accordance  with  the  definition  Finish.  Consequently
               avoid her becoming OCS.                            only the boats that finished by crossing the line from the
                                                                  course side  from  A, the  last  mark,  leaving  mark D to
               M broke rule 14, but is exonerated for doing so in the   starboard, finished correctly.
               absence of injury or damage.
                                                                  Wings and others v Wispozora and others, Clacton SC
               No Name v Mad Scramble, Hollingworth Lake SC
                                                              61
   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66