Page 62 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 62

RYA 1981/3                                         SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               Rule 10, On Opposite Tacks                         An incident between Aquila and Windhover took place
               Rule 18.1(b), Mark-room: When Rule 18 Applies      about 600 yards from the finishing line. There was no
               Rule 18.2(b), Mark-room: Giving Mark-Room          contact. Aquila immediately hailed Windhover that she
               Rule 18.2(d), Mark-room: Giving Mark-Room          would protest but, because of the squally conditions and
                                                                  her  inadequate  crew,  did  not  display  her  protest  flag
               When at a windward mark a boat that was clear ahead   until after she finished. Her hull length was more than 6
               on  the  same  tack  at  zone  entry  tacks  to  pass  it,  her   metres.
               entitlement  to  mark-room  ends.  Rule  10  applies,  as  if
               the mark were not there.                           At the beginning of the hearing, the protest committee
                                                                  elicited  the  facts  about  the  protest  flag  and  asked
                                                                  Windhover if she had any questions to put at this point,
                                                                  but she had not. The parties were then asked to retire so
                                 Wind                             that the protest committee could discuss in private the
                                                                  validity of the protest. When the parties returned, they
                                                                  were  informed  that  the  committee  had  decided  that
                                                                  Aquila  had  displayed  her  protest  flag  at  the  first
                           A3                                     reasonable  opportunity  and  would  continue  with  the
                                           B2      B1
                                  B3                              hearing.
                            A2                                    Windhover  was  asked  if  she  had  any  objection.  The
                                                                  answer  was  negative.  The  hearing  proceeded,  and
                                                                  Windhover  was  disqualified.  She  appealed  against  the
                             A1
                                                                  decision to hear the protest and against the fact that the
                                                                  committee conferred in private.

                                                                  DECISION
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               Windhover’s appeal is dismissed.
               Two boats, A and B, on  starboard tack, approached  a
               mark to be left to starboard. When A reached the zone,   Having  heard  Aquila's  reasons  for  her  delay  in
               she  was  clear  ahead  of  B.  A  tacked  onto  port tack  to   displaying  a  protest  flag,  the  protest  committee  was
               fetch the mark, causing B to change course to avoid a   entitled to invite the parties to the protest to retire while
               collision. B protested under rule 10.              it  considered  whether  the  flag  had  been  displayed  in
                                                                  reasonable time.
               The protest committee disqualified B under rule 18.2(b)
               on the grounds that, when  A reached the zone, B had   As Windhover did not take the opportunity at the time to
               had  no  overlap  and  so  was  required  by  the  second   object to the validity of the protest when asked  if  she
               sentence  of  that  rule  to  give  mark-room  to  A.  B   wished to do so, she cannot subsequently introduce that
               appealed.                                          objection  as  the  grounds  for  her  appeal,  whatever  the
                                                                  merits of her case.
               DECISION
               B’s  appeal  is  upheld.  B  is  to  be  reinstated  into  her   Aquila v Windhover, Hoylake SC
               finishing position and A is disqualified under rule 10.
                                                                  RYA 1981/7
               A  boat  that  enters  the  zone  at  a  mark  clear  ahead  of   Rule 44.2, One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties
               another  boat retains  the  right  to  mark-room  under  the   Rule 61.1(a), Protest Requirements: Informing the
               second sentence of rule 18.2(b) only if she remains on   Protestee
               the same tack or gybes. If she tacks, rule 18.2(d) says
               that rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply, and, in any case, none   A third boat that has witnessed an incident between
               of rule 18 now applied, since the boats were on opposite   other boats, and wishes to protest, cannot justify her
               tacks, and B’s proper course at the mark was to tack, as   own failure to display a protest flag on the grounds that
               referred to in rule 18.1(b).                       none of the other boats lodged a valid protest after
               Rule 10 applied, and A, on port tack, did not keep clear.   displaying a protest flag.
               Crystal v Shimmer, Royal Fowey YC                  When a boat protests, believing  that another boat  has
                                                                  not taken a penalty as described in rule 44.2, she must
               RYA 1981/5                                         establish first that the other boat broke a rule of Part 2
               Rule 63.3, Right to be Present                     (or rule 31).
               Rule 63.5, Hearings: Validity of the Protest or Request   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               for Redress                                        After an incident between A and B, B hailed ‘Protest’
               Rule 70.1(a), Appeals and Requests to a National   and  displayed  a  protest  flag.  A  agreed  to take  a  two-
               Authority
                                                                  turns penalty. C, which witnessed the incident, believed
               A  protest  committee  may  confer  in  private  for  the   that  A  had  not  completed  two  turns  in  taking  her
               purpose of reaching a decision on a procedural point. A   penalty.  B  did  not  lodge  a  protest  after  the  race.  C
               boat that waives an opportunity to object to the validity   lodged a protest against A for breaking a rule of Section
               of  the  protest  against  her  cannot  later  introduce  that   A  with  respect  to  B.  The  protest  committee  held  that
               objection as the grounds for her appeal.           C’s protest was not valid since C, a boat of more than 6
                                                              62
   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67