Page 70 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 70

convinced the committee that W failed in her obligation   discardable. It is now open to the protest committee to
               to keep clear’. L appealed, stating that her decision to   consider whether to take action under rule 69.2 against
               alter course was taken with rule 14 in mind.       J.F.
               DECISION                                           It should be noted that the assessment of sportsmanship
               L’s appeal is upheld; W is disqualified.           and of good manners is necessarily subjective and may
                                                                  be expected to vary according to the circumstances of
               The diagram of the protest committee clearly shows that   the  incident.  Penalization  under  rule  69.2  is  a  serious
               L  gave  W  room  to  keep  clear  when  she  luffed,  as   matter for the competitor and should be undertaken only
               required  by  rule  16.1,  but  W  had  not  taken  action  to   after careful consideration.
               keep  clear  by  the  time  L  had  closed  to  within  half  a
               length of her.                                     Question from Rutland SC
               The facts found include the statement that ‘L bore away   RYA 1986/7
               to  avoid  damage’  which  can  only  mean  that  contact   Rule 44.1, Penalties at the Time of an Incident: Taking
               would otherwise have occurred. Rule 14 required L to   a Penalty
               avoid the  contact, which she did.  W therefore did  not   Rule 60.1, Right to Protest; Right to Request Redress or
               keep clear, because L could not sail her course without   Rule 69 Action
               needing to take avoiding action. L did all that the racing   Rule 64.1(b), Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration
               rules required of her.
                                                                  Rule 44 allows a boat to take a two-turns penalty and
               Simba v Marguerita, Portsmouth SC
                                                                  protest without risk of further penalty, provided that she
                                                                  did not break rule 2, and that, if she did in fact break a
               RYA 1986/6                                         rule  of  Part  2,  she  did  not  thereby  gain  a  significant
               Rule 2, Fair Sailing                               advantage, or cause injury or serious damage.
               Rule 24.1, Interfering with Another Boat
               Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course                      ASSUMED FACTS
               Rule 69.2, Misconduct: Action by a Protest Committee   While  rounding  a  mark  a  collision  occurs  between  A
                                                                  and  B.  Each  flies  a  protest  flag  and  later  lodges  a
               When a boat abandons her attempt to sail the course,   protest.  A  takes  a  two-turns  penalty  in  respect  of  the
               she  may  be  deemed  to  have  retired  and,  if  she  then   incident.  The  protest  committee  considers  the  protests
               manoeuvres against, and interferes  with, another boat   and  refuses  to  hear  them  on  the  grounds  that  A  has
               that is racing, she will be penalized and the helmsman   admitted fault but has exonerated herself.
               may be liable to disciplinary action.
                                                                  QUESTION 1
               ASSUMED FACTS                                      In  this  situation,  assuming  that  the  fault  can  only  lie
               In the last race of a series of seven, boat A, sailed by   with  one  or  other of  the  boats  involved,  does  rule  44
               J.F., misses out a mark of the course and is thereby able   enable  a  boat  to  perform  a  two-turns  penalty  as  an
               continually to harass and manoeuvre against boat B. A   ‘insurance  policy’  against  disqualification  and  then
               does not complete the race. J.F.'s actions are deliberate.   protest the other boat involved?
               He  never  intends  to  finish,  his  intention  is  to  secure
               overall  first  place  in  the  Championship  by  ‘sailing  B   ANSWER 1
               down the fleet’.                                   Yes.  She  is  not  necessarily  acknowledging  that  she
                                                                  broke a rule when she takes a penalty, since rule 44.1
               QUESTION                                           refers to a boat that ‘may’ have broken a rule. Rule 44
               Is this a breach of good sportsmanship, and under what   does not prevent a boat doing turns, and then protesting.
               rules may a protest committee take action against A and   Rule 64.1(b) says that she cannot be penalized further at
               against J.F.?
                                                                  any subsequent protest hearing, unless she should have
               ANSWER                                             retired either  because she  broke rule 2 or because the
               When a boat enters for a race or series, she undertakes   penalty was not available to her under rule 44.1(b) by
               to try to win while complying with the rules of the sport   reason of her having caused injury or serious damage,
               and  the  generally  accepted  norms  of  fairness,   or gained a significant advantage. Such a protest  must
               sportsmanship and good manners.                    be heard.
               When she abandons the attempt to sail the course, she   QUESTION 2
               may  be  considered  to  have  retired,  and  if  she  then   If the answer to Question 1 is ‘Yes’ and if no injury to
               manoeuvres in the racing area against another boat, she   any competitor or serious damage to either boat resulted
               breaks rule 24.1 for interfering, when not racing, with a   from  the  collision,  could  A’s  turns  nevertheless  be
               boat that is racing. As she has omitted a mark in order   deemed to be gaining a significant advantage requiring
               to get to and harry the other boat, she is not sailing a   her retirement?
               proper  course,  and  as  she  and  the  other  boat  are  on   ANSWER 2
               different legs of the course, she also breaks rule 24.2. A   If the question means ‘Can the action of protesting from
               deliberate  breach  of  rule  24.2  is  a  clear  violation  of   a position of immunity from penalization be construed
               good sportsmanship and fair play, which breaks rule 2.
                                                                  as  seeking  to  gain  an  advantage’  the  answer  is  ‘No’.
               When,  after  protest  and  hearing,  the  boat  is  found  to   Rule  44  does  not  prevent  a  boat  doing  her  turns  and
               have broken rules 24.1 or 24.2, she is to be disqualified.   protesting,  and  she  is  entitled  to  do  so.  The  boat  is
               If she has also broken rule 2, her disqualification is not
                                                              70
   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75