Page 120 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 120

Etap21 266's protest  was not lodged in time, and was   RYA 2006/7
               therefore invalid.                                 Definitions, Keep Clear
               Tempest  793  herself  lodged  a  valid  protest,  which   Keep Clear is a defined term that includes precise tests,
               opened  the  incident  to  investigation  by  the  protest   and  keeping  clear  is  usually  more  than  just  avoiding
               committee.  Protests  are  decided  on  the  balance  of   contact.
               probability, and the question of whether one, the other,
               or both boats lodged a valid protest will not affect the   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
                                                                  Sea  Angel,  a  Bénéteau  311,  was  approaching  the
               process  of  finding  facts,  drawing  conclusions  and
               applying the rules. If it is found that a boat broke a rule,   committee  boat  end  of  the  start  line  to  start,  close-
                                                                  hauled in 16-18 knots of wind. She was forced to make
               she  is  to  be  penalized,  even  if  it  was  only  she  that
               validly protested.                                 room  to  avoid  collision  with  an  unidentified  boat  to
                                                                  windward  which  was  not  entitled  to  room.  La  Vida
               Tempest 793 v Etap21 266 and v.v., Ullswater SC    Loca, a First 36, followed through the gap thus created,
                                                                  clearing  Sea  Angel  by  ‘between  one  foot  and  one
               RYA 2006/5                                         metre’.  Sea  Angel's  protest  was  dismissed  on  the
               Rule 28.1, Sailing the Course                      grounds  that  she  had  not  had  to  take  avoiding  action
               Rule 62.1(a), Redress                              with regard to La Vida Loca. Sea Angel appealed on the
               Rule 64.1, Decisions: Penalties and Exoneration    grounds that La Vida Loca did not keep clear.

               When the sailing instructions are ambiguous, so that it   DECISION
               is  not  clear  whether  a  mark  has  a  required  side,  any   Sea  Angel’s  appeal  is  upheld.  La  Vida  Loca  is
               doubt  is  to  be  resolved  in  favour  of  a  boat  liable  to   disqualified under rule 11.
               penalization.
                                                                  In  16-18  knots  a  separation  of  less  than  one  metre
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               between  boats  of  this  size  on  the  same  tack  does  not
               The course  marks  included a series of  buoys  listed in   constitute keeping clear, as defined, since a change of
               two  separate  sailing  instructions  as  ‘North  Channel’.   course by Sea Angel would have resulted in immediate
               Roatan protested Piglet and Isolde  for failing to  leave   contact.
               buoy 38A on the correct side. Buoy 38A was included   Sea Angel v La Vida Loca, Royal Corinthian YC
               in one  list, but (because of a  clerical error) not in the
               other.  The  protest  committee  found  that  Piglet  and   RYA 2006/8
               Isolde had not left buoy 38A on the side required by one
               sailing  instruction,  but  dismissed  the  protest.  Roatan   Rule 28.2, Sailing the Course
                                                                  Rule 62.1(a), Redress
               appealed on the grounds that the  intention of the race
               committee was to include  buoy 38A as a  mark  of the   Rule 63.1, Hearings: Requirement for a Hearing
                                                                  Rule A5, Scores Determined by the Race Committee
               course,  which  should  prevail  over  its  accidental
               omission elsewhere.                                Unless otherwise specified in the sailing instructions, a
                                                                  race  committee  has  no  power  to  disqualify  a  boat
               DECISION
               Roatan’s appeal is dismissed.                      without a hearing, or score her DNF if she finishes, if it
                                                                  believes she has not  sailed the course. Instead it must
               There  was  a  discrepancy  between  the  descriptions  of   protest her within the protest time limit. A boat wrongly
               ‘North  Channel’  in  SIs  7.5  and  13.  Buoy  38A  was   disqualified  without  a  hearing  or  incorrectly  scored
               included  in  one  but  not  in  the  other.  Neither  sailing   DNF  is  entitled  to  be  reinstated  into  her  finishing
               instruction can be said to prevail over the other.   position.

               There is a clear thread in appeal decisions that a boat is   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               given the benefit of the doubt as to which is the correct   The  sailing  instructions  said  that  all  relevant  marks
               course when the description of the course is ambiguous   ‘shall  be  rounded’,  either  to  port,  to  starboard  or  as
               and there  is no proven advantage either way. (See  for   charted,  depending  on  how  the  course  was  displayed.
               example  case  RYA  1993/1:  in  that  case  there  was  no   The race committee displayed a course for a race held
               clearly correct course for any boat, while in this appeal   on 18 June, in which rounding two of the marks on the
               there  are  two  equally  valid  possibilities,  but  the   required side meant looping them. The race committee
               principle is the same.)                            said that this had not been intended.
               Although  it  is  not  necessary  to  decide  this  case  by   Suntouched  and  Trust  did  not  loop  the  marks  in
               reference  to  entitlement  to  redress,  the  publication  of   question; instead they left them on their required sides
               ambiguous  sailing  instructions  is  an  improper  action,   without  approaching  them,  and  so  sailed  a  shorter
               and it was further held in case RYA 1989/10 that, ‘in   distance,  finishing  in  first  and  second  places.  In  the
               cases  involving  errors  by  the  race  committee,  it  is  a   results not published until several days later, they were
               good principle that any doubts be resolved in favour of   recorded as disqualified without a hearing. They asked
               the  competitor’.  In  this  case,  that  doubt  should  be   for redress.
               resolved in favour of the protestees who were at risk of   On  29  August,  the  race  committee  lodged  a  protest
               penalization. The course  is to be regarded as one that
               could be sailed correctly, regardless of which side buoy   against Suntouched and Trust for not sailing the course.
               38A was left.                                      At hearings on 3 September, the protest committee first
                                                                  considered  the  valid  requests  for  redress,  and  decided
               Roatan v Piglet and Isolde, Parkstone SC
                                                             120
   115   116   117   118   119   120   121   122   123   124   125