Page 127 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 127

RS500                                            Phantom  and  she  broke  it,  rule  11  would  still  have
                                                                  applied  to  the  RS500,  with  the  result  that  both  boats
                                                                  should  have  been  penalized.  The  fact  that  a  leeward
                                Phantom                           boat is sailing above a proper course is not a reason in
                                                                  itself  for  the  exoneration  of  a  windward  boat that  did
                                                                  not keep clear, having been given room to do so.

                                           Wind                   However,  the  protest  committee  was  correct  to  decide
                                                                  that  rule  17  did  not  apply,  even  if  the  Phantom  were
                                                                  sailing above her proper course. Rule 17 placed a proper
                                                                  course  limitation  on  the  RS500  when  the  overlap  first
                                                                  began.  The  boats  never  ceased  to  be  overlapped  as
                                                                  defined even if they were momentarily on opposite tacks
                                                                  while gybing, since they were both at that moment sailing
                                                                  at  more  than  ninety  degrees  from  the  true  wind.
                                                                  However, rule 17 applies only  as  long as the  boats not
                                                                  only remain overlapped but also remain on the same tack,
                                                                  and so it will cease to apply when either boat gybes. No
                                                                  new  proper  course  limitation  applied  to  the  Phantom
                               Course to
                               next mark                          when, during the overlap, she became the leeward boat
                           RS500                                  within two hull lengths of the other. There was only ever
                                                                  one overlap, the only proper course limitation applied to
                                                                  the RS500, and it had already ended.
                               Phantom

                                                                  Phantom 1151 v RS500 553, Delph SC
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               An  RS500  established  an  overlap  to  leeward  of  a   RYA 2008/8
               Phantom from astern outside the zone of a mark from   Rule 32.2, Shortening or Abandoning after the Start
               where  the  course  to  the  next  mark  was  a  reach,  and
               where both boats needed to bear away and gybe in order   Unless the sailing instructions validly change rule 32.2,
               to round it. The Phantom gave the RS500 mark-room,   flag S with two sounds must be used to shorten course,
               and neither boat became clear ahead of the other during   and  a  race  cannot  be  shortened  to  the  course’s
               this time. After both boats had left the mark astern, the   designated  finishing  line  or  any  other  line  unless  it
               Phantom,  sailing  high,  hailed  ‘Windward  boat  keep   complies with (a), (b) or (c) of rule 32.2.
               clear’ to the RS, which was under gennaker. There was
               contact  within  three  lengths  of  the  mark,  and  the
               Phantom protested. The protest committee disqualified
               the RS500 under rule 11, and referred its decision to the
               RYA,  noting  that  rule  18  was  not  relevant  at  the
               moment of the incident, and that, although the Phantom
               may have been sailing above her proper course, ‘rule 11
               and not rule 17 applied’, and that, in any case, rule 17           Course to next mark
               did not apply to the overlap.
               DECISION                                                           Course
                                                                                  sailed by
               The decision of the protest committee to disqualify the   Course  OLM  most of the
               RS500 is confirmed.                                  sailed by      fleet
                                                                    Quixotic
               The protest committee was correct to decide that, since             Outfall buoy
               the  incident  occurred  after the  RS500  had  been  given
               mark-room as required by rule 18.2, her entitlement to                   Course from last mark
               that  room  had  ended.  Rule  16.1  did  not  apply  to  the
               situation  after  the  boats  had  left  the  mark,  since  the   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               protest  committee  found  that  there  was  no  change  of   The next mark of the course for a cruiser handicap race
               course  by  the  Phantom.  The  RS500  was  a  windward   was  the  outer  limit  mark  (OLM)  of  the  starting  and
               boat that did not keep clear, and broke rule 11. If her   finishing  line,  to  be  left  to  starboard.  The  OLM  was
               gennaker  prevented  her  from  sailing  as  high  as  the   between the shore mark and a red outfall buoy, and both
                                                                                                   0
                                                                                             0
               Phantom, that was no excuse for breaking that rule. See   of these lay approximately on 155  / 335 .
               case  RYA  1984/3,  and  also  case  RYA  2006/4  which   The  wind  had  dropped,  and,  as  boats  reached  the
               describes  the  responsibilities  of  both  the  right-of-way   previous  mark,  the  race  committee  radioed  from  the
               and  the  keep  clear  boat.  If  rule  15  had  applied  to the   shore  that  the  race  was  to  be  shortened  to the  outfall
               Phantom when she gybed, she initially gave the RS500   buoy which bore 318  from that mark. No member of
                                                                                    0
               room to keep clear.
                                                                  the race committee was afloat, and flag S was not used.
               With reference to the protest committee’s comment that   No sailing  instruction either required the keeping of a
               rule  11  and  not  rule  17  applied,  those  rules  are  not   radio  watch  after  the  course  had  originally  been
               mutually  exclusive.  If  rule  17  had  applied  to  the   announced by VHF, or changed rule 32.2.
                                                             127
   122   123   124   125   126   127   128   129   130   131   132