Page 130 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 130

endanger  herself  in  order  to  claim  her  entitlement  to   however, could have avoided contact and is, therefore,
               room.  If  the  outside  boat  disputes  the  inside  boat's   also  disqualified  under  rule  14  because  the  contact
               entitlement  to  room, she must nevertheless give  room,   resulted in damage.
               and then, if she wishes, protest.
                                                                  Profile v Tilt, Island Sailing Club
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               During  the  Round  the  Island  Race  2010,  both  boats   RYA 2011/2
               were reaching on port tack and were in the process of   Definition, Conflict of Interest
               rounding  the  southernmost  tip  of  the  Isle  of  Wight,   Rule 2, Fair Sailing
               which  was  to  windward.  Profile  was  ahead  and  to   Rule 63.4, Hearings: Conflict of Interest
               windward.  Tilt  approached  from  clear  astern  and  was
               sailing on a higher course than Profile. When the boats   A  boat  does  not  break  rule  2  when  she  believes
               became overlapped, there were more than 2 boat lengths   reasonably,  even  if  incorrectly,  that,  in  manoeuvring
               between  them.  Profile  believed  that  there  was   against another boat, she will protect her series score
               insufficient depth of water to windward to allow her to   by worsening the score of the other boat.
               sail  any  higher.  Profile  held  her  course  and  Tilt   Knowing  a  party  to  the  protest  through  past  common
               continued  sailing  a  higher  course.  As  the  boats   membership  of  the  same  club  does  not  automatically
               converged,  there  was  contact  causing  damage.  Profile   mean  that  a  member  of  the  protest  committee  has  a
               protested Tilt.                                    conflict of interest. However, such knowledge should be

               The protest committee decided that Profile was not 'at   declared  at  the  outset  so  the  possibility  of  a  close
               an obstruction'  and was therefore not entitled to room   personal interest can be investigated.
               under rule 19.2(b). It disqualified Profile under rule 11.   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               The protest committee also stated there was nothing Tilt   After  the  penultimate  race  (Race  8)  of  the  GP14
               could  have  been  expected  to  do  to  avoid  contact  and   National Championship, One Purpose 14 (14067) tried
               therefore she did not break rule 14 as a result.  Profile   to calculate the overall points of the leading boats as a
               appealed.                                          second discard had become available on completion of
               DECISION                                           8 races and the last race of the Championship (Race 9)
               The appeal is upheld. Profile is to be reinstated to her   was  about  to  be  started.  14067  calculated  incorrectly
               finishing position and Tilt is to be disqualified.   that, in order to protect her second place overall, it was
                                                                  necessary that Ding Dong Do (14057) did not win the
               When there is a dispute over an entitlement to room due   final race.
               to differing views on whether a boat is at an obstruction
               or not, the proper course of action is for the outside boat   For  a  period  between  the  preparatory  and  starting
               to give room and then to protest. The inside boat is not   signals for the gate start of Race 9, 14067 manoeuvred
               required  to  endanger  herself  in  order  to  claim  her   close  to  14057  in  an  effort  to  affect  14057’s  position
               entitlement  to  room.  The  principles  applicable  are   among the boats waiting for the gate to open. After the
               similar to those in WS Case 50.                    start  14067  retired  from  the  race.  14057  finished  the
                                                                  race  in 8th place. 14057 protested 14067 under rule 2
               At a protest hearing,  it  is  for the right-of-way  boat to   and requested redress under rule 62.1(d).
               establish  that  contact  would  have  occurred  if  she  had
               held  her  course  and  therefore  that  she  needed  to take   The  protest  committee  found  no  evidence  that  rule  2
               avoiding action. It is then for the inside boat to present   had  been  broken  and  dismissed  both  the  protest  and
               sufficient  evidence  to  establish  that  she  was  at  an   request  for  redress.  However,  between  the  taking  of
               obstruction and that she was entitled to room. If, after   evidence and the giving of the decision, 14057 became
               considering all the evidence, a protest committee finds   aware that the helm of 14067 was known personally to
               that the inside boat had a reasonable belief that she was   one  member of the protest committee, which  fact had
               at an obstruction and required room, it should dismiss   not been declared earlier. 14057 asked for a reopening
               the protest. If the protest committee is satisfied that the   of the hearing which was refused as impractical and she
               inside  boat’s  belief  was  not  reasonable  in  all  the   was  advised  to  appeal,  which  she  did  on  the  grounds
               circumstances,  it  should  uphold  the  protest  and   that: there had  been a  breach of rule 63.4; the protest
               disqualify her.                                    committee had failed to reopen the hearing; and rule 2
                                                                  and WS Case 78 had not been properly applied.
               The  RYA  accepts  that  Profile  genuinely  believed  she
               could  not sail any  higher and that, given the depth of   DECISION
               water, the size of boats and the wind strength at the time   Ding Dong Do’s appeal is dismissed. One Purpose 14’s
               of the incident, that belief was a reasonable one to have.   score in Race 9 is to remain RET.
               Profile  was  accordingly  entitled  to  room  under  rule   WS  Case  78  gives  guidance  on  some  specific
               19.2(b) and although she broke rule 11 she did so while   circumstances in which a boat may attempt to slow the
               sailing within that room. Profile is therefore exonerated   progress  of  another  boat,  but  none  of  those
               from her breach of rule 11 under rule 21(a) and Tilt is to   circumstances apply to this case. The general criterion
               be disqualified for breaking rule 19.2(b). Profile did not   stated  by  Case  78  is  that  a  tactic  is  sportsmanlike  if
               avoid  contact  with  Tilt,  but  under  rule  14(a)  was  not   “there is good reason to believe that the tactic benefitted
               required to act to do so until it was clear that Tilt was   or could have benefitted” her series score. The RYA is
               not  giving  room,  at  which  point  there  was  no  safe   satisfied  that,  in  the  absence  of  definitive  cumulative
               possibility  for  Profile  to  avoid  the  contact.  Tilt,
                                                             130
   125   126   127   128   129   130   131   132   133   134   135