Page 132 - Case Book 2017 - 2020 April 18
P. 132

to act to avoid contact with her. That is also the moment   SUMMARY OF THE FACTS
               after which a right-of-way boat risks penalization if she   During  race  5  in  a  Topper  class  series,  the  windward
               has  not  acted to  avoid  contact that  results  in  damage.   mark  dragged  out  of  position  and  was  replaced  by  a
               The RYA is satisfied that it was, or should have been,   mark  boat. The  mark  boat  misheard  the  race  officer’s
               plain  to  Toy  that  Quickstep  III  was  not  keeping  clear   instruction  and  displayed  flag  N  instead of  flag  M.  A
               while  she  was  tacking,  as  evidenced  by  the  fact  that   number of competitors assumed that the race had been
               Toy’s avoiding action, taken immediately Quickstep III   abandoned  and  temporarily  stopped  racing,  losing
               had  reached  a  close-hauled  course,  was  unsuccessful.   places as a result.
               Toy did not act to avoid contact soon enough, although   A  single  request  for  redress  was  lodged  by  Topper
               she  could  have  done  so,  and,  as  there  was  contact
               resulting in damage, she is disqualified under rule 14.   47390  which  identified  three  boats  as  affected.  The
                                                                  hearing established that those boats had lost about 8, 3
               Quickstep III v Toy, Royal North of Ireland Y C    and 3 places, respectively, and that their actual finishing
                                                                  positions had been 19 , 10  and 12 .
                                                                                   th
                                                                                              th
                                                                                        th
               RYA 2012/3
               Rule 70.1(a), Appeals and requests to a national   The  protest  committee  awarded  redress  as  there  had
               authority                                          been  an  improper  action  of  the  race  committee.
               RYA Arbitration                                    However, the protest committee was unable to discover
                                                                  how many boats might have been affected by the error
               An RYA Arbitration hearing is not a protest committee   and decided that the fairest result  for all  boats was to
               hearing but an agreed arrangement between the parties   leave the scores unchanged. Topper 47390 appealed.
               and the arbitrator. Only full protest  hearing  decisions
               or procedures may be appealed.                     DECISION
                                                                  Topper 47390’s appeal is upheld. All three boats are to
               SUMMARY OF THE FACTS                               be rescored in race 5 – as finishing positions 8, 3 and 3
               Two  protest  forms  were  lodged  by  the  appellant,  one   less than their actual finishing positions. No other boats’
               dealing with a racing incident between Alice and Xstatic   scores are to be changed.
               that resulted in damage and the other being a request for
               redress  by  Alice  arising  from the same  incident. After   The protest committee was correct in awarding redress
               discussion, both parties accepted RYA Arbitration and   but as the loss of places by the three boats were facts
               the  Exoneration  Penalty  as  provided  for  in  the  sailing   found  it  should  have  awarded  improved  places  to  the
               instructions. The protestee accepted the alleged facts of   boats  identified  as  affected,  whether  or  not  they  had
               the  incident  and  accepted  a  20%  exoneration  penalty.   asked for redress. Leaving all scores unchanged is not
               The  protestor,  Alice,  accepted  redress  in  the  form  of   as fair an arrangement as possible for all boats affected.
               average points.                                    The  possibility  that  other  boats  might  have  been
                                                                  affected  is  not a good reason to refuse recompense to
               Alice  appealed  on  the  grounds  that  the  protest  should   those boats known to have  been disadvantaged by the
               not have been heard by arbitration as there was damage,   error of the race committee.
               and that the quantum of redress was inappropriate as her
               overall position in the regatta would not change.   Request for redress by Topper 47390, Datchet Water SC

               DECISION                                           RYA 2013/2
               The appeal is refused.                             Rule 76, Exclusion of Boats or Competitors
                                                                  Rule 77, Identification on Sails
               An RYA Arbitration hearing is not a protest committee   Appendix G (as prescribed by the RYA), Identification
               hearing but a mutually agreed arrangement between the   on Sails
               parties  and  the  arbitrator.  Under  rule  70.1(a)  only  the
               decisions  of  a  protest  committee  hearing  may  be   Rule  77  may  be  deleted  by  sailing  instructions.  When
               appealed. Therefore, the appeal is refused as it concerns   rule  77  is  deleted,  neither  Appendix  G  nor  the  RYA
               an agreement made following an arbitration hearing. At   prescriptions thereto apply. A boat might break a class
               the  time,  Alice  had  voluntarily  accepted  both  the   rule  whether  or  not  rule  77  applies.  An  organising
               process  and  the  outcome  of  the  arbitration.  She  could   authority may reject or cancel an entry when they know
               have  decided  not  to  accept  either  the  process  or  the   that  a  boat  intends  to  race  with  a  sail  number  other
               outcome, in which case a full protest committee hearing   than  its  registered  number  or  use  a  sail  without  any
               would  have  been  required,  the  decision(s)  of  which   number. A boat may be protested for a breach of class
               would have been open to appeal.                    rules, rule 77 or the WS Advertising Code.
               Alice v Xstatic, Royal Plymouth Corinthian Y C     QUESTION 1
                                                                  Can  rule  77  be  changed  by  deleting  it  in  the  sailing
               RYA 2013/1                                         instructions?
               Rule 64.2 Decisions on Redress
                                                                  ANSWER 1
               When one or more competitors are found to have had   Yes. Rule 77 may be changed or deleted as it is not a
               their  finishing  positions  adversely  affected  by  an   rule listed in rule 86.1(b).
               improper  action  of  the  race  committee,  the  scores  of
               those boats should be adjusted even if it is not known   QUESTION 2
               whether or not other boats might have been affected.   If  yes,  does  Appendix  G  (or  any  part  of  it)  now  still
                                                                  apply?

                                                             132
   127   128   129   130   131   132   133   134   135   136   137