Page 11 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 11

TR CALL  A2

               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Definitions      Keep Clear


               Question

               B closes on Y from windward. When is B no longer keeping clear of Y?




                                                                 B1


                                                        B2
                                             B3
                                 B4





                                         Y4            Y3            Y2             Y1




               Answer

               B is keeping clear of Y when Y, the right-of-way boat, can sail her course with
               no need to take avoiding action and also, because they are overlapped, change
               course in both directions without immediately making contact.

               At positions 1 & 2:  B is keeping clear.
               At position 3:         if Y luffs, there will be contact but not immediately, so B is
                                      still keeping clear.
               At position 4:         Y cannot change course to windward without immediately
                                      making contact with B. B is no longer keeping clear, and
                                      would be penalized under rule  11 if Y were to protest,
                                      whether or not the boats make contact.

               At any moment, a boat’s course (as that term is used in Part 2 and the
               Definitions) means the direction in which her bow is pointing. It does not mean
               her proper course, nor the course she could be expected to be sailing shortly.

               There does not need to be contact for a boat to fail to keep clear.






               Section A - Definitions and Fundamentals
   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16