Page 15 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 15

TR CALL  A6

               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 18.1        When Rule 18 Applies
               Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room
               Rule 21          Exoneration
               Definitions      Zone


               Question 1

               Y and B are approaching a mark to be left as indicated by the arrows. Rule 17
               does not apply to B. What is the latest time B may luff?


                 WIND
                                                                                                  WIND
                                                                                  Y



                                                                   B









                                                       Y




                                            B

               Answer 1

               Rule 18 begins to apply when any part of the hull of either boat is in the zone.
               From this moment, if B luffs and thereafter has to bear away in order to give Y
               mark-room, then B breaks rule 18.2. B does not break rule 18.2 if she is able to
               luff while giving Y room to sail to the mark as required by paragraph (a) in the
               definition Mark-Room. Y is required to keep clear under rule 11. However, she
               will be exonerated under rule 21 if she breaks rule 11 because B fails to give her
               mark-room.

               Question 2
               If B has to bear away to give mark-room, when is she required to do so?

               Answer 2

               B is required to bear away promptly when the first of the boats enters the zone.






               Section A - Definitions and Fundamentals
   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20