Page 18 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 18

QUESTION 2                                       QUESTION 3



                         Y4
                                        B4                                Y4
                                                                                         B4

                         Y3
                                        B3                                Y3             B3

                         Y2
                                        B2                                Y2             B2





                                             B1                                                B1
                                                                                Y1
                               Y1


               Answer 2

               If Y’s change of course immediately results in contact with B, then B was not
               keeping clear and broke rule 11. Penalize B.

               If there is a greater distance between  them, and Y bears away hard without
               giving B room to keep clear, then Y breaks rule 16.1. Penalize Y.

               Question 3

               In similar circumstances B keeps clear but, when she reaches head to wind, she
               maintains this position for a while. B  then passes through head to wind and,
               slightly later, Y bears away and their sterns make contact. There is a protest.
               What should the call be?

               Answer 3

               When B passes head to wind, the boats are no longer overlapped on the same
               tack so paragraph (b) of the definition Keep Clear no longer applies.

               If the contact would have occurred without Y bearing away, B breaks rule 13.
               Penalize B.

               If the contact would not have occurred without Y bearing away, Y breaks rule
               16.1. Penalize Y.












               Section B - The Prestart
   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23