Page 23 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 23

TR CALL  B9

               Rule 22.3        Moving Astern

               Question

               Shortly before the start, B and Y are sailing ahead very slowly, Y half a length
               ahead of B. Y is in danger of crossing the starting line before the start and
               briefly backs her mainsail. This causes her to sail backwards toward B. She then
               stops backing her sail but continues to move backwards towards B. B maintains
               her position, and there is contact. B protests. What should the call be?





                                                         Y1
                                                           Y2


                                                            Y3







                                                     B3
                                                      B2

                                                       B1






               Answer

               Penalize Y.

               Rule 22.3 requires a boat moving astern by backing a sail to keep clear of one
               that is not. Although Y is no longer backing her sail, she is moving astern
               because she backed her sail, and is still subject to rule 22.3. Y fails to keep clear
               and breaks rule 22.3.

               A boat is 'moving astern by backing a sail' and therefore subject to rule 22.3 if
               she is moving astern through the water, and she initiated or assisted her
               sternwards motion by backing her sail. If she ceases to back the sail, but is still
               moving astern, she is still subject to the rule.






               Section B - The Prestart
   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28