Page 19 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 19

TR CALL  B3

               Rule 12          On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped
               Rule 15          Acquiring Right of Way
               Rule 16.1        Changing Course


               Question 1

               Before the start, B and Y are both on port tack, with B clear astern of Y. As Y
               bears away to gybe, B also bears away onto a course that will become a collision
               course if Y bears away further. At no time during the manoeuvre are the boats
               overlapped. Y luffs and protests. What should the call be?




                                                      Y1
                               B1            B2

                                                                    Y2
                                                          B3




                                                                  B4          Y3


                                                                                     Y4



               Answer 1

               No penalty. As right-of-way boat Y is required to give B room to keep clear
               when she changes course. B is required to keep clear, so she must not prevent Y
               from sailing in the direction she is pointing. At position 3 B is keeping clear, but
               her actions are preventing Y from bearing away further. Neither boat breaks a
               rule.

               Question 2

               If an overlap is established just after position 3, does the situation change?

               Answer 2
               Just after position 3, B becomes right-of-way boat at least in part because of Y’s
               actions. Therefore, provided she maintains her course, B does not initially need
               to give Y room to keep clear. As Y keeps clear she breaks no rule. No penalty.






               Section B - The Prestart
   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24