Page 21 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 21

TR CALL  B6

               Rule 10          On Opposite Tacks
               Rule 15          Acquiring Right of Way


               Question

               Before the start Y and B, reaching on starboard tack, approach an anchored boat.
               When Y reaches the anchored boat, she is clear ahead of B. Y passes to
               windward of it, bears away alongside it, then gybes in order to sail around its
               stern. Very soon after Y gybes, B is still on starboard and gains a small inside
               overlap. B changes course trying to avoid contact with Y but there is contact.
               There is a protest. What should the call be?






                                                     Y1                      B1




                                                                 B2
                                           Y2



                                                        B3


                                           Y3








               Answer
               Penalize Y. When Y gybes in position 2, she gives up right-of-way. Therefore
               rule 15 does not apply. In position 3 Y fails to keep clear of B and breaks rule
               10.















               Section B - The Prestart
   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26