Page 28 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 28

TR CALL  C5

               Rule 42.3(d)  Propulsion; Exceptions


               Question

               At the start, boat Y has been near head to wind on starboard tack for some time,
               and has lost steerage way. She returns to a close-hauled course by repeatedly
               yanking the tiller to windward. Another boat protests. What should the call be?
























               Answer

               Y breaks no rule. She is above close-hauled and is moving slowly, and her
               'sculling' movements are to turn the boat to a close-hauled course. This is
               specifically permitted by rule 42.3(d).

               Repeated movements of the helm that are either forceful or that propel the boat
               forward or prevent her from moving astern break rule 42.2(d). However,
               sculling to turn a nearly stationary boat from above close-hauled onto a close-
               hauled course is permitted.


















               Section C - The Start
   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33