Page 30 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 30

Question 3

               Same situation as Question 2, except that Y is able to gybe and keep clear of B.
               B chooses to gybe and then luffs hard to turn inside Y. Because Y (now leeward
               boat on port tack) also luffs, there is contact. B protests. What should the call
               be?


                                        QUESTION 3           B2

                                                                            B1
                                                 B3



                                                            Y2

                                          Y3                      Y1


                                                                       B7


                                                                   Y7


               Answer 3

               When B gybes, she becomes keep clear boat. Rule 15 does not apply as B gave
               up right of way. However, rule 16.1  now applies if Y changes course. By
               changing course without giving B room  to keep clear, Y breaks rule 16.1.
               Penalize Y.


               If Y were to stop changing course the  moment B gybes and there were still
               contact (or if Y does change course but there clearly would have been contact
               even if she had not) then B breaks rule 11.



























               Section D - The Windward Leg
   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35