Page 35 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 35
TR CALL D5
Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 13 While Tacking
Rule 16 Changing Course
Rule 17 On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Question 1
Two boats B and Y are on a beat, having a close tacking duel. Both are on
starboard tack and Y is subject to rule 17. Y luffs to tack astern of B, which she
can do if B does not change course. As soon as Y starts to luff, B also luffs. Y
passes through head to wind and makes contact with B's quarter. B protests.
What should the call be?
QUESTION 1 QUESTION 2
B3
B2 B2
Y3
B1 B1
Y2 Y2
Y1 Y1
Answer 1
Until Y passes head to wind, B's only obligation is to keep clear. Y is subject to
rule 17 and may only sail above her proper course if she promptly sails astern of
B.
As soon as Y passes head to wind, B becomes right of way boat and any change
of course from this moment must comply with rules 16.1 and 16.2. If contact is
caused by B's change of course after position 2, B breaks rules 16.1 and 16.2.
Penalize B.
If contact would occur even if B holds her course between position 2 and 3, Y
breaks rules 17 and 13. Penalize Y.
Section D - The Windward Leg