Page 37 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 37

TR CALL  D6

               Rule 10          On Opposite Tacks
               Rule 15          Acquiring Right of Way
               Rule 19.2        Giving Room at an Obstruction
               Rule 20          Room to Tack at an Obstruction
               Rule 21          Exoneration


               Question 1

               On a beat to windward X is on port tack, ahead and to leeward of opponent B
               and team-mate Y. X tacks onto starboard. At position 3 her tack is complete and
               B calls for room to tack. Y tacks as soon as possible, but there is not room for B
               to tack between X and Y. B protests. What should the call be?



                        QUESTION 1                           X5




                                                 Y5
                                                                      X4


                                                     Y4      B5

                                                                                X3
                                                                    B4
                                                 Y3
                                                                                   X2

                                          Y2                   B3


                                                                                 X1
                                                        B2
                                 Y1



                                             B1




               Question 2

               The circumstances are the same, except that at position 3, B bears away to pass
               astern of X. Y also bears away to pass astern but there is insufficient room and
               she makes contact with both X and B. Y protests. What should the call be?







               Section D - The Windward Leg
   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42