Page 40 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 40

TR CALL  D8

               Rule 13          While Tacking


               Question 1

               B has sailed Y, both on port, beyond the layline to the windward mark to let
               team-mates overtake. Eventually B starts to tack and Y does likewise, so that
               they are both between head to wind and close-hauled on starboard at the same
               time.

               Before reaching close-hauled on starboard, B brings her rig upright and hits the
               rig of Y. B protests. What should the call be?










                                                                                  Y3
                                                                     B3



                                                                       B2

                                                                                    Y2

                                                                  B1

                                                                              Y1




               Answer 1

               Penalize B. Because both boats are subject to rule 13, B has to keep clear of Y.

               Question 2

               Would the answer be the same if the boats were further away from the mark?

               Answer 2

               Yes.


                                                 [There is no call D9]






               Section D - The Windward Leg
   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44   45