Page 45 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 45

Question 2

            At the same mark Y and B are just overlapped on starboard tack at the zone with Y
            behind. Y quickly becomes clear astern, but then changes course to be directly behind
            B. As B’s stern draws level with the mark, Y hails 'Don’t tack' and prevents B from
            tacking round the mark. B protests. What should the call be?


            Answer 2

            No penalty.

            Y is outside overlapped boat when B reaches the zone, and must give B mark-room.
            However, although B remains entitled to mark-room, at the time her course is to tack
            she is not overlapped to windward of Y and therefore the definition mark-room does
            not include room for her to tack. Y gives B mark-room and keeps clear of her as
            required by rule 12.

            Question 3

            Will answers 1 and 2 be the same if B had been clear ahead at the zone?

            Answer 3

            Yes.


            When a boat is entitled to mark-room, room for her to sail  her course does not
            include room to tack unless, at the time her course is to tack, she is overlapped to
            windward and on the inside of the other boat and will be fetching the mark after her
            tack. This is true whether or not the boats were overlapped at the zone.

            If contact occurs when a windward inside boat tacks, the contact may be evidence

            that the outside boat failed to give the inside boat the room she needed to tack.


























            Section E - The Windward Mark
   40   41   42   43   44   45   46   47   48   49   50