Page 49 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 49

TR CALL  E6

            Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
            Rule 12          On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped
            Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room
            Rule 18.3        Tacking in the Zone


            Question 1
            Y is approaching a starboard-hand windward mark on port tack, and completes a tack
            within the zone clear ahead of B. After Y is on a close-hauled course B bears away to
            avoid her. B protests. What should the call be?



                    QUESTION 1
                                                                       QUESTION 2
                                                                               Y4



                     Y3                                                               Y3

                                Y2                                          B4
                                                                                           Y2
                                      B3
                      Y1                                                          B3
                                          B2
                                                                                 Y1
                                                 B1                                       B2


                                                                                                 B1



            Answer 1
            No penalty.

            Y completes her tack at position 3 without breaking rules 13 or 15. The mark must be
            rounded to starboard so rule 18.3 does not apply. Y becomes clear ahead, and B is
            required by rule 12 to keep clear, which she does.

            Question 2

            Y is approaching a starboard-hand windward mark on port. Y passes head to wind in
            the zone, becomes clear ahead of B and then immediately overlapped to windward of
            her. B is on the layline, and does not give Y mark-room, forcing Y to pass the wrong
            side of the mark. Y protests. What should the call be?






            Section E - The Windward Mark
   44   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54