Page 50 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 50

Answer 2

            The mark must be rounded to starboard so rule 18.3 does not apply. B has right of
            way throughout but, when the boats become overlapped while Y is subject to rule 13,
            rule 18.2(a) requires B to give Y mark-room provided she is able to do so from the
            time the overlap began.  See rule 18.2(f).

            If B is able to give mark-room after Y becomes overlapped, as shown in the diagram,
            penalize B for breaking rule 18.2(a).

            If B is unable to give mark-room, rule 18.2(f) applies and B does not break any rule.
            Y is required by rule 11 to keep clear which she does. No penalty.



































































            Section E - The Windward Mark
   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55