Page 55 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 55

TR CALL E10


            Rule 18.1        Mark-room; When Rule 18 applies
            Rule 18.2        Giving mark-room
            Rule D1.1(b)  Change to rule 18.2(b)










                                                                 Y
                                      B


            Question 1
            Y on starboard tack and B on port tack,  both close-hauled,  are approaching a
            windward mark to be left to starboard. B bears away and passes astern of Y. Y luffs
            slowly and nearly stops head to wind with the mark abeam. While Y is luffing, B
            tacks to starboard and bears away towards the mark. Y does not give B room at the
            mark, and B luffs to avoid a collision. B protests. What should the call be?

            Answer 1
            When Y enters the zone, the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward and
            no part of rule 18 applies. When B passes head to wind, she becomes overlapped
            inside Y and entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(a). However, rule 18.2(f) applies
            because the overlap was created by B tacking to windward of Y.

            If Y is unable to give mark-room, she is not required to give it and therefore she does
            not break rule 18.2(a).  B keeps clear as required by rule 11.  No penalty.

            If Y is able to give mark-room after B becomes overlapped, penalize Y for breaking
            rule 18.2(a).

            Question 2
            Would the answer be different if Y is clear ahead when B passes head-to-wind?

            Answer 2
            Yes. Rule D1.1(b) applies and B is not entitled to mark-room. By luffing, B keeps
            clear. No penalty.




            Section E - The Windward Mark
   50   51   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60