Page 60 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 60

TR CALL E14

            Rule 13          While Tacking
            Rule 18.1        When Rule 18 Applies
            Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room
            Rule 18.3        Tacking in the Zone
            Rule 21          Exoneration
            Definitions      Mark-Room


                               Question 1                                    Question 2



























            Question 1

            B and Y overlapped on port tack enter the zone of a windward mark that is to be
            rounded to port. Both boats are close-hauled and B is keeping clear of Y. B luffs to
            tack and, after she passes head-to-wind, there is contact between the boats. Y
            protests.  What should the call be?

            Answer 1

            Penalize Y.

            From the time one of the boats enters the zone, rule 18 applies and Y is required by
            rule 18.2(b) to give B mark-room. Because B is overlapped inside and to windward
            of Y and would be fetching the mark after her tack, mark-room includes room to tack.
            Although rule 18 ceases to apply after B passes head to wind, because the boats are
            now on opposite tacks on a beat, the subsequent contact shows that before B passed
            head to wind, Y had failed to give B mark-room.

            Y breaks rule 18.2(b). B is exonerated under rule 21 for breaking rule 13, a rule of
            Section A.






            Section E - The Windward Mark
   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65