Page 64 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 64
TR CALL F2
Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 12 On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped
Rule 19.1 When Rule 19 Applies
Rule 19.2 Giving Room at an Obstruction
Rule 21 Exoneration
Definitions Obstruction
Question 1
Three boats, Y, X and B, are reaching on proper courses. Y is approximately
two lengths directly behind X’s stern. B is overlapped to windward of Y and
half a length ahead. X slows, intending to luff B. B hails for room to pass to
leeward of X and bears away, causing Y to have to bear away to avoid her. Y
protests. What should the call be?
B1
B2
X1 X2
Y1
Y2
Answer 1
Penalize B.
X is a right-of-way boat and is therefore an obstruction to B and Y. Because Y is
a right-of-way boat with regard to B, Y may choose to pass X on either side. B
must keep clear of Y, but if Y chooses to pass X to leeward, she must give B
room between her and X. When B bears away between positions 1 and 2, she
fails to keep clear as windward boat and breaks rule 11.
Question 2
Would the answer be the same if Y is sailing a course to pass to leeward of X?
Answer 2
No. If at position 1, Y is sailing a course to pass to leeward of X then, at the
point when B needs to commit to passing to leeward of X, Y is the outside boat
Section F - Reaching