Page 62 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 62

TR CALL E15


            Rule 18.3  Tacking in the Zone

            Question

            Three boats are approaching a port-hand windward mark. X tacks inside the zone and
            to leeward of boat B. Both boats continue sailing a close-hauled course. After passing
            the mark, X luffs B to allow team-mate Y to round the mark inside of B. B keeps
            clear and protests. What should the call be?










































            Answer

            Penalize X. When X passes head to wind from port to starboard tack in the zone and
            is then fetching the mark, she is on the same tack as B who has been on starboard
            tack since entering the zone. Therefore rule 18.3 applies between them. After both
            boats have passed the mark, X luffs and causes B to sail above close-hauled to avoid
            contact. Although rule 17 does not apply to X, she breaks rule 18.3(a) which applies
            as long as one of the two boats is still in the zone (see rule 18.1).











            Section E - The Windward Mark
   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66   67