Page 66 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 66
Y
B A
Answer 4
No penalty. Rule 19 begins to apply between positions 1 and 2 when B and Y
are at the obstruction A. Rule 19.1(a) gives B the right to choose which side to
pass the obstruction. At the time rule 19 begins to apply, neither B nor Y is
outside or inside with respect to A, and therefore rule 19.2(b) is not applicable.
At position 2, Y becomes overlapped to windward of A. Y is now the outside
boat, and must give B room to sail between her and the obstruction under rule
19.2(b) if B chooses to do so. However, B chooses to go below A. When B
becomes overlapped to leeward of A, B becomes an obstruction to Y and A and,
accordingly, Y must give A room between her and B. Y gives A room as
required by rule 19.2(b) and keeps clear of her as required by rule 11.
Question 5
Similar to question 4, except that B and Y are steering a course to pass to
leeward of A. At position 2, Y becomes overlapped to leeward of A. A luffs to
keep clear and protests. What should the call be?
A
Y
B
Answer 5
No penalty. B and Y are sailing a proper course and therefore do not break rule
17. At position 1, Y keeps clear of B as required by rule 11. At position 2, Y
becomes overlapped to leeward of A. B is now an obstruction to Y and A. As
the outside boat, A must give Y room between her and B, provided that she is
able to do so from the time the overlap began. A must also keep clear of Y under
rule 11. A gives room and keeps clear by luffing.
Section F - Reaching