Page 63 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 63
TR CALL F1
Rule 17 On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Question
Under what circumstances can Y establish a leeward overlap from clear astern
and still have the right to sail above her proper course?
FIGURE 1
B1 B2 B3 B4
2 hull lengths
Y4
Y3
Y2
Y1
______________________________________________________
FIGURE 2
B1 B2 B3 B4 B5
2 hull lengths
Y1 Y2 Y5
Y3
Y4
Answer
Figure 1: The overlap is established when the boats are more than two hull
lengths apart. Rule 17 doesn’t apply to Y and she is entitled to sail above her
proper course.
Figure 2: The overlap is established when the boats are less than two hull
lengths apart. Y may not sail above her proper course while the boats remain
within this distance. However if Y sails more than two hull lengths away from B
without breaking the overlap, she no longer has a proper course restriction and is
entitled to sail above her proper course.
The distance between boats is measured between the closest points of hull, crew
or equipment in normal position.
Section F - Reaching