Page 68 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 68

TR CALL  F4

               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course


               Question

               B and Y are reaching, both above their proper courses. They are overlapped and
               Y is entitled to sail above  her proper course. B luffs,  trying to become clear
               ahead. Then, believing (wrongly) she is clear ahead, she hails 'Clear Ahead'. Y
               bears away to a proper course and protests. What should the call be?




                                            'Clear
                                            Ahead'


                                      B1                     B2                  B3





                                                                                   Proper course
                                                                                    to next mark
                               Y1
                                                   Y2
                                                                      Y3




               Answer

               No penalty. B's hail of what she believes to be true does not carry any
               significance within the rules. Because B has failed to become clear ahead, Y is
               under no obligation to bear away to a proper course.

               If Y does not bear away, then B may protest; in the above circumstances the
               umpires would again signal no penalty.

               If B were to bear away and cause contact, then she would break rule 11 whether
               or not her luff had broken the overlap.










               Section F - Reaching
   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73