Page 73 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 73

TR CALL  G4

               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course
               Definitions      Proper Course


               Question 1

               Nearing the end of the downwind leg, B and Y are overlapped on the same tack;
               B is subject to rule 17 and is sailing her proper course. Soon her proper course
               will be to gybe for the mark. When must she begin bearing away to gybe?






                                           B1                   Y1      Lay-line







                                                        B2                  Y2






                                                                Proper course
                                                                to next mark


               Answer 1

               B must bear away to gybe at the time she would have borne away to gybe to
               finish as quickly as possible, had Y not been there. If she clearly delays beyond
               this time she breaks rule 17 by sailing above her proper course.

               Question 2

               When B is clearly beyond the layline Y protests. What should the call be?

               Answer 2

               Penalize B. B breaks rule 17.

               In cases where there is doubt whether or not B is beyond the layline: no penalty.








               Section G - The Run
   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78