Page 74 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 74

TR CALL  G5

               Rule 10          On Opposite Tacks
               Rule 15          Acquiring Right of Way


               Question

               Boats B and Y are running on port tack, overlapped and level, with their hulls
               between ½ and 1 length apart. Y, the windward boat, gybes onto starboard tack
               and then holds her course. B responds promptly by gybing but her boom hits Y's
               hull. Y protests. What should the call be?




                                                                 Y1
                                               B1




                                                                  Y2
                                                 B2




                                                                 Y3
                                                 B3





               Answer

               When Y gybes onto starboard, she acquires right of way, and must initially give
               B room to keep clear.

               If B reacts promptly, and in a seamanlike way, and contact occurs, then Y
               breaks rule 15. Penalize Y.

               If B either delays her response, or gybes in an unseamanlike way, and as a result
               contact occurs, then B breaks rule 10. Penalize B.

               When a boat gains right of way and another boat must take action to keep clear,
               the keep-clear boat must begin to take that action immediately and the right-of-
               way boat must give her room to do so. A seamanlike gybe includes letting the
               boom go out at the end of the gybe, but not necessarily fully. It also includes
               rolling the boat, but only to the extent required to facilitate steering. See also
               General Principle 4.


               Section G - The Run
   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79