Page 75 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 75

TR CALL  G6

               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course
               Rule 19.1        When Rule 19 Applies
               Rule 19.2        Giving Room at an Obstruction


               Question 1

               B and X are overlapped on port tack on a downwind leg. B is subject to rule 17.
               Both boats are on collision course with Y on starboard tack. X hails for room to
               gybe but B luffs to pass astern of Y, which is a proper course for B. X keeps
               clear and protests. What should the call be?



                                                         X



                                          B


                                                                          Y







               Answer 1

               No penalty.

               Rule 19 applies between boats at an  obstruction. The right-of-way boat may
               choose to pass an obstruction on either side. X must keep clear of B, and B must
               not sail above her proper course. X keeps clear of B and gives her room while
               she does so.

               Question 2

               How close to the obstruction can B be before she makes her choice?

               Answer 2

               If B chooses to luff, she must be far enough from Y to both keep clear of Y and
               give X room to keep clear under rule 16.1. If B chooses to gybe, she must be far
               enough from Y to give X room under rule 19.2(b) to pass on the same side of Y.





               Section G - The Run
   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77   78   79   80