Page 72 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 72

TR CALL  G3

               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course
               Definitions      Leeward and Windward
               Definitions      Overlap
               Definitions      Tack, Starboard or Port

               Question 1
               B and Y are overlapped on starboard tack on a very broad reach. Y is subject to
               rule 17. Without changing course, Y gybes, allowing her boom to go right across
               and her sail to fill on the new tack. She then immediately gybes back and luffs
               B. B responds to the luff and protests. What should the call be?


                       QUESTION 1                                   QUESTION 2
                                                                                               Y1
                                                  Y1
                             B1                                           B1




                           B2                                           B2                   Y2
                                               Y2


                        B3                                            B3
                                                                                         Y3
                                          Y3


               Answer 1
               No penalty.
               Because Y’s sail fills in a running position after the gybe, she is sailing by the
               lee, and has therefore changed tack and rule 17 ceases to apply. When she gybes
               back onto starboard tack, rule 17 does not apply.

               Question 2
               The circumstances are the  same except that Y’s first 'gybe' is performed by
               pulling the boom just across the centre-line, flicking the boom so the sail fills on
               the new side, and then immediately pushing the boom back to the previous side.
               Y then luffs, B responds and protests. What should the call be?

               Answer 2
               Penalize Y.
               Y is never sailing by the lee. Therefore her windward side determines the tack
               she is on. Because this does not change, she remains on starboard tack
               throughout the manoeuvre and therefore breaks rule 17 when she luffs.




               Section G - The Run
   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76   77