Page 67 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 67

TR CALL  F3

               Rule 17          On the Same Tack; Proper Course


               Question

               Y and B are reaching, both above their proper courses, with B just clear ahead
               and one length to windward of Y. B bears away so that the boats become
               overlapped. Y promptly bears away to a proper course. B protests. What should
               the call be?



                                            B1
                                                                 B2



                                                                                    B3


                           Y1                  Y2
                                                                                    Proper course
                                                                                      to next mark
                                                                 Y3





               Answer

               No penalty.

               Rule 17 begins to apply when the boats become overlapped. From that moment
               on, Y must sail no higher than her proper course from the position she is in
               when the overlap begins (position 2) - i.e., she must sail no higher than a course
               that she would sail in the absence of B from position 2 to reach the next mark as
               quickly as possible. By bearing away promptly, Y complies with this rule.

               The answer is the same if the overlap  is established through Y sailing faster
               rather than B bearing away.

               A boat has no obligation to be on a proper course in anticipation of a proper
               course requirement that does not yet exist. A new requirement to sail a proper
               course applies from that time and from the position the boat is then in.








               Section F - Reaching
   62   63   64   65   66   67   68   69   70   71   72