Page 65 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 65
and must give B room under rule 19.2(b). If she fails to do so, penalize Y. B is
exonerated under rule 21 for breaking rule 11 while sailing within the room to
which she is entitled under rule 19.2.
Question 3
B and Y are sailing on a broad-reach leg and are approaching A, who is moving
slowly. Y’s bow is about half of a boat-length behind B’s bow and B is steering
a course to pass to leeward of A. At position 1, Y hails for room to pass to
leeward of A. At position 2, B is overlapped to leeward of A and there is no
longer room for Y to pass between them. Y luffs to keep clear of A and protests.
What should the call be?
A
Y
B
Answer 3
No penalty. When, after position 1, boats B and Y are at the obstruction A, rule
19 requires the outside boat B to give the inside boat Y room between B and A.
However, at position 2, B is no longer required to keep clear of A and, as a
result, A is no longer an obstruction. Because A is not an obstruction, rule 19 no
longer applies between B and Y, and B is therefore no longer required to give Y
room to pass to leeward of A. Y keeps clear of B and A as required by rules 11
and 12, respectively.
Question 4
Similar to question 3, except that Y’s bow is about half of a boat-length ahead of
B’s bow and B is steering a course directly toward A’s transom. At position 2, Y
becomes overlapped to windward of A. Shortly thereafter, B bears away and
passes to leeward of A. X protests. What should the call be?
Section F - Reaching