Page 61 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 61

Question 2

            The situation is the same, except that the contact happens while both boats are subject
            to rule 13.

            Answer 2

            Penalize Y.

            After position 2, Y is required to give B room to tack because B can then tack and
            fetch the mark.  Y fails to do so and breaks rule 18.2(b).  See answer 1 and the last
            paragraph of the definition Mark-Room.  B is on Y's port side while both boats are
            tacking and breaks rule 13.  However, because she is sailing within the mark-room to
            which she is entitled, she is exonerated under rule 21(a).





























































            Section E - The Windward Mark
   56   57   58   59   60   61   62   63   64   65   66