Page 57 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 57

TR CALL E12


            Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped
            Rule 16.1        Changing Course
            Rule 18.2        Giving Mark-Room
            Definitions      Mark-Room



            Question

            B and Y are approaching a windward mark to be left to starboard. B is overlapped
            outside Y at the zone and must give Y mark-room. She does so, including giving
            room for Y to tack at the mark. At position 3 B has luffed slightly while giving Y
            room to keep clear. Y responds just enough  to keep clear, but there is no longer
            enough room for her to tack. Y protests. What should the call be?




























            Answer

            No penalty.

            Mark-room includes room to tack for Y because she is overlapped to windward and
            on the inside of B. The requirement for B to give mark-room ceases when she has
            given Y ‘room to round the mark as necessary to sail the course’ (see Definition
            Mark-Room). At position 3, B has given Y mark-room as required and, as a result, B
            no longer has an obligation under rule 18.2(b) to give mark-room. Y has kept clear as
            required by rule 11.


            When mark-room for an inside overlapped boat includes room to tack and she does
            not tack, but instead sails clearly beyond where she needed room to round the mark
            as necessary to sail the course, the outside boat is no longer required to give room to
            tack.




            Section E - The Windward Mark
   52   53   54   55   56   57   58   59   60   61   62