Page 71 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 71

TR CALL  G2

               Rule 10          On Opposite Tacks
               Rule 11          On the Same Tack, Overlapped

               Question

               Two boats B and Y are running directly downwind, both on port tack. B, the
               leeward boat, gybes onto starboard without changing course, and her boom hits
               Y's boom. Y protests. What should the call be?




                                                                 Y1
                                              B1






                                                                  Y2
                                               B2










               Answer

               Penalize Y. Y breaks rule 10.

               At position 1 Y is required by rule 11 to keep clear. After B gybes, Y is required
               by rule 10 to keep clear. B cannot have broken rule 16.1, because she does not
               change her course. As Y has been keep clear boat throughout, rule 15 does not
               apply to B. No rule entitles Y to room to keep clear, so rule 21 does not apply.






















               Section G - The Run
   66   67   68   69   70   71   72   73   74   75   76