Page 51 - Call Book for Team Racing 2017-2020
P. 51
TR CALL E7
Rule 16.1 Changing Course
Rule 18.3 Tacking in the Zone
Rule 31 Touching a Mark
Definitions Fetching
Question
Y on port tack and B on starboard tack are approaching a port-hand windward mark.
B bears away, and as a result Y is no longer able to keep clear of B by passing astern
of her. Y passes head to wind in the zone ahead and to leeward of B who is fetching
the mark. After Y completes her tack she passes close to the mark and B has to luff
and sails above close-hauled to avoid Y. B protests. What should the call be?
Y5
B5
Y4 B4
Y3 B3
B2
Y2
B1
Y1
Answer
When B changes course rule 16.1 requires her to give Y room to keep clear of B
including, in this situation, space to comply with her obligations under rules 18.3(a)
and 31.
If Y does not respond promptly, but would have been able to sail to the wrong side of
the mark without hitting it if she had done so, penalize Y for breaking rule 18.3(a).
If Y does respond promptly to the change of course by B, but is unable to tack and
pass the mark on the wrong side, then Y is entitled to space to comply with rules
18.3(a) and 31. B gives Y this space by luffing. No penalty.
Section E - The Windward Mark